504,278 active members
6,118 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Leadshine > MX3660 with SainSmart Relay
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 31
  1. #1

    MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    I have four output available on my MX3660 and wanted to take advantage, rather than deal with mechanical relays I decided to buy a SainSmart 8 channel unit (link below). I've managed to get this to work, sort of, but I'm not doing something correctly. Here's how I have it hooked up currently, perhaps somebody can get me going in the right direction. Suffice it to say, I am an amateur at this.

    5v connected to relay board.
    5v running to Output 1-
    Lead from Output 1+ to input 1 on relay board
    Lead from Output 2+ to input 2 on relay board

    The plan here is to use this for coolant (Output 1) and air blast (output 2). When I toggle coolant via my controller, the light I have connected to relay turns on and off about 80% of the time, but the other 20% it seems the relay is between states, so the light is on but kind of flickering. More troublesome is that Output 2 is changing states simultaneously with Output 1, meaning the relay 2 is switching with relay 1. My ports and pins are not set this way, so it would mean that my wiring obviously isn't proper.

    I've tried connecting 5v+ to Output 1+, then running a lead from Output 1- to the relay input 1. I can't recall now, but either it didn't function or the results were the same.

    Interestingly, the LEDs on the relay boards faintly glow on input 1 and 2 when in an off state, so some voltage is reach those inputs when it shouldn't be. Leading me to believe I need to add some resistors to the system. But I'm not experienced enough to know how that would be done.

    Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    So, two things.
    1. I looked at the documentation for those Solid State Relays and they are for switching an AC load.
    2. What is the device that you are connecting to this board? Air blast and Coolant. Are they AC solenoids?

  3. #3

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    The air blast is a pneumatic solenoid.

    The coolant is just a pump (.5A).

    Both are AC.

    Like I mentioned I have successfully turned things on and off, but I occasionally get stuck between states on the SSR's (i'm not able to get it to go below the threshold to turn it off at times), and curiously one command is operating both outputs on the MX3660 (i believe because they are on a common ground of some variety).

    I'm considering buying some of the below SSR's as I think wiring would be more straight forward, but the idea of the relay board sucked me in, it's just so clean inside the enclosure. Setup seemed straightforward until I actually had to do it.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...2R62OSH2&psc=1

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    I may be wrong here, but:

    I have never used the MX3660 but the manual says that the 4 general purpose outputs are open collector. This indicates that the output can sink current from the + terminal (Collector) to the - terminal (Emitter). You have the + voltage connected to the - terminal. This would be backwards for an NPN transistor.

    Normally you would connect it up like this:


    The - output connected to ground will sink the current required to bring the + output low when the output is active. The resistor will pull the + output high when the output is not active. You can change the outputs active state to high or low in the configuration.

  5. #5

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Thanks for the drawing.

    I think have the appropriate resistors at home to give this a shot tonight. I will report back.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    The only problem you may have is the state of the output when you power the system up. If the MX3660 lets the output float at startup, the resistor will pull the input to the relay up, thus activating the solenoid. Then as soon as you activate Mach, or whatever CAM you are using, the output will go to the state you have defined there.

    This is less than optimal if it works that way. However we can figure a solution if it does.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Thinking about it some more, you can connect it like this. Active High outputs with startup state of off, hopefully.


  8. #8

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    That's how I connected it the first time I set it up. It makes perfect sense to me, but I couldn't get it to work. I'll try again though.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Your first post says that you have +5v connected to the - output. This has +5v connected to the + output.

  10. #10

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    I also said "I've tried connecting 5v+ to Output 1+, then running a lead from Output 1- to the relay input 1. I can't recall now, but either it didn't function or the results were the same."

    I'm fairly positive this did not function, but I will verify.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    581

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryGarcia View Post
    I also said "I've tried connecting 5v+ to Output 1+, then running a lead from Output 1- to the relay input 1. I can't recall now, but either it didn't function or the results were the same."

    I'm fairly positive this did not function, but I will verify.
    The MX3660 Ou1..Out4 appear to come from Darlington type Optocouplers so may have too much voltage
    drop (as much as 1.5V) to run 5V SSRs reliably. You might need 6-7V on the + pin to guarantee operation

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    215

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    OK, this is getting frustrating. I read one document that says one thing and another that says something else. So, now I dont know what to believe.

    What you get with Chinese hardware.

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Basic Questions about SainSmart Relay Module
    By atomarc in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-13-2017, 10:52 PM
  2. How to hook up SSR to sainsmart 5axis?
    By gbrlbll in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2017, 07:07 PM
  3. Sainsmart CNC Motion Controller
    By Nissan20det in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2016, 12:33 AM
  4. 24Vdc Solid State Relay not the same as mechanical relay??
    By cjchands in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 07:40 AM
  5. Using a solid state relay as a main stop relay
    By garagefela in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 11:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •