530,079 active members*
2,684 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1597

    My solution for the computer switch

    I installed an AB selector switch on my 1100 to keep the old guy from turning it off when reaching for the coolant switch! I used the selector as its different than the factory computer or coolant switches, just another level of safety in that regard ha!

    I did use my homemade knockout cutter to cut a hole in the panel, I made it back in the 70's because the standard knockout kit coesnt contain one thats the correct size. I now need to come up with a "catchy" name plate for it.
    .

    All joking aside, it does work and keeps me from hitting the wrong switch inadvertently.........................
    mike sr

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    513

    Re: My solution for the computer switch

    Just make a label that says "The Correct Switch."
    Or, if you want to pun on the position on the panel, call it "The Right Switch."

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1597

    Re: My solution for the computer switch

    Quote Originally Posted by jwatte View Post
    Just make a label that says "The Correct Switch."
    Or, if you want to pun on the position on the panel, call it "The Right Switch."
    It is working out well though.

    I was thinking "Catastrophic failure"
    mike sr

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1932

    Re: My solution for the computer switch

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    It is working out well though.

    I was thinking "Catastrophic failure"
    After you mentioned this I looked at the power strip I use for PP control, monitor and other stuff. I have it mounted along side of a rolling tool box for easy access. I ended up moving it as high as I could and using the top 2 switched outlets for the PP control and monitor.
    As it was I could easily bump those switches with my knee, vacuum hose or rolling shop chair .And failure would be next
    When you mentioned this I was like I never use those on machine controls so nothing to worry about. Wrong, my setup was ready made for bozo to crash it all.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1597

    Re: My solution for the computer switch

    Quote Originally Posted by mountaindew View Post
    After you mentioned this I looked at the power strip I use for PP control, monitor and other stuff. I have it mounted along side of a rolling tool box for easy access. I ended up moving it as high as I could and using the top 2 switched outlets for the PP control and monitor.
    As it was I could easily bump those switches with my knee, vacuum hose or rolling shop chair .And failure would be next
    When you mentioned this I was like I never use those on machine controls so nothing to worry about. Wrong, my setup was ready made for bozo to crash it all.

    MD at my age I need as many things bullet proof as I can make them, this is one of the things that was on the list, I have hit the computer switch quite a few times over the years.
    mike sr

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-25-2017, 04:01 PM
  2. My limit switch solution for the 6040 cnc router
    By titantomorrow in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2016, 10:36 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 10:43 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 02:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •