528,200 active members*
2,352 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Need Help!- Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Need Help!- Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?

    Hello,

    I have created a dxf drawing as well as 3D model of a clock hand I would like to make from a piece of flat metal, which is already the correct thickness.

    I am new to mastercam and have been struggling for several days to get through splines, chaining, extruding etc try and get it to do what I want - to no avail.

    The only toolpath I managed to generate successfully was dynamic and it wants to remove heaps of stock and leave my hand as a boss on top of the stock block with everything around it removed.

    That would take hours of machining with my slow little Sherline machine.

    So I would like it to create a toolpath that will follow the outline of the clock hand drawing or model and repeat this operation until the correct depth / break through is reached.

    What toolpath type do I need to for this and how would I set that up?

    I will be using a 1/16" endmill and I have created that already.

    The hand design is such that a 1/16" will be able to cut all the curves so no issues there.

    Any help or advise, is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?

    Just do a contour with depth of cuts set to the amount desired. If you want to send the file over, I will be glad to look at it.
    Gregwi@sfgsc.com

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Re: Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?

    Hello,

    Thank you. I have emailed you the files. I have also attached the files here too.

    My attempts of creating a 2D countour path have all failed.
    In hand3, I tried to create a groove of the diameter of the endmill (1/16") but that also failed.

    Best regards
    Bernt

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    4

    Re: Need Help!- Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?

    You can use 2D toolpath' 'Mastercam: Contour and Pocket.
    Or contact to me, help you: cammechco@gmail.com
    -----------------
    Mastercam Training

  5. #5
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3543

    Re: Need Help!- Milling a clock hand with Mastercam -- toolpath?

    Did any one get you some sample paths for this? What version of Mastercam are you running?
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

Similar Threads

  1. Mastercam Art Toolpath
    By platonas1 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-31-2016, 05:48 PM
  2. toolpath in mastercam x5
    By juniormachinist in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 11:03 AM
  3. Export toolpath to mastercam
    By rdpdo in forum ArtCam Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2010, 08:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •