547,447 active members*
1,537 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    i feel like im really close to get this spindle working i just need your help.

    So i finally got my spindle moving yesterday threw vfd auto tune feature but i cant get it working threw mach 4 yet.

    I attached notepad file of ALL vfd settings along with manual and ESS screenshots to try to make this easier.

    i have also had success getting motors connected and working.



    ESSMB3 - VFD

    AG - GND

    AO - AI1

    NO3 - X1 was also on y101

    in VFD settings P01.20 is analog read on the VFD when in mach 4 enter rpm spindle start i will get a voltage reading here.


    so what i think is left is maybe how to start spindle and witch direction it goes. how to wire that up and just make sure VFD settings are correct because i think somethings on wrong setting now.

    seeing spindle spin for first time in 1 year has brought new life to this project

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    Have to know more about the motor you are driving, what are your motor name plate spec's
    Mactec54

  3. #3

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    i Currently have 400v 3 phase going to vfd or i guess this a says AC SERVO DRIVE. I know this for sure and i have 208 3 phase coming into the building. with Maddox auto transformer. vfd does say ready RDY.

  4. #4

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    here is some more info given by manufacturer.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Bodhimotors View Post
    here is some more info given by manufacturer.
    That's a big spindle motor 15Kw Drive

    What is the max frequency of the spindle and the max speed of the spindle

    Did the spindle manufacture sell the drive for this spindle Motor
    Mactec54

  6. #6

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    yes they sold it together
    380v
    13kw motor
    28amp
    18000 rpm
    600hz
    bt40
    also has a 4 on it witch i think means its 4 pole

    yes i bit of more than i could chew with this project and before i new it it was big.
    with no cnc or cam experience at the time i got frustrated
    so bought tormach and im comfortable enough now with cnc and cam and how it works
    so im back at it would like the build volume and see it finished and moving haha

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Bodhimotors View Post
    yes they sold it together
    380v
    13kw motor
    28amp
    18000 rpm
    600hz
    bt40
    also has a 4 on it witch i think means its 4 pole

    yes i bit of more than i could chew with this project and before i new it it was big.
    with no cnc or cam experience at the time i got frustrated
    so bought tormach and im comfortable enough now with cnc and cam and how it works
    so im back at it would like the build volume and see it finished and moving haha
    You said you did an auto tune, that may not of been a good Idea as you need all these motor spec's and some others entered into the drive before you do an auto tune

    So I will go through the manual to see what you need to first set in the drive this may take a little while
    Mactec54

  8. #8

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    the manufacturer said they setup vfd to motor. i hired a guy to help me with this from upwork to help me with this setup but we ultimately determined that it wasnt working because i was supplying it 208 3 phase and it didnt have enough power. so project got put on hold for awhile. i just recently got 3 phase transformer hooked up and started trying going threw the manual again. and thats when i found auto tune and saw motor spin for fist time.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Bodhimotors View Post
    the manufacturer said they setup vfd to motor. i hired a guy to help me with this from upwork to help me with this setup but we ultimately determined that it wasnt working because i was supplying it 208 3 phase and it didnt have enough power. so project got put on hold for awhile. i just recently got 3 phase transformer hooked up and started trying going threw the manual again. and thats when i found auto tune and saw motor spin for fist time.
    Going by the list you posted of set Parameters they are not all correct for that motor, so may not have been factory setup
    Mactec54

  10. #10

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    good point
    that's true a 12 months ago manufacturer set it up. but they don't know how I'm driving so i figure some things would get changed
    9 months ago i hired someone and they made some changes. i have the list of changes he told me to done. but in farness to him we ultimately figured out i was supplying wrong power to vfd witch was 208 3phase
    a week ago i connected 400v 3 phase started trying settings again new pc nothing worked but i ran tune procedure and spindle would move by entering (P03.24 - 2) - (ENTER) spindle would buzz then spin up. when i try to do this now it doesn't do anything.

    but the list shows where I'm at now

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Bodhimotors View Post
    good point
    that's true a 12 months ago manufacturer set it up. but they don't know how I'm driving so i figure some things would get changed
    9 months ago i hired someone and they made some changes. i have the list of changes he told me to done. but in farness to him we ultimately figured out i was supplying wrong power to vfd witch was 208 3phase
    a week ago i connected 400v 3 phase started trying settings again new pc nothing worked but i ran tune procedure and spindle would move by entering (P03.24 - 2) - (ENTER) spindle would buzz then spin up. when i try to do this now it doesn't do anything.

    but the list shows where I'm at now
    You never want the spindle to buzz then spin up, the main Parameters are mostly correct so no damage should of been done, wrong Parameters set can damage a spindle motor like this
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. New DIY CNC with MACH4 ESS/MB3 and clearpath servo motors
    By darko9000 in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2020, 04:46 AM
  2. New CNC BUILD wiring help from essmb3 to spindle mach4 mb3 profile
    By Bodhimotors in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-05-2020, 01:56 AM
  3. VFD ? Wiring to ESS/MB3 for Mach4 PWM use ...
    By Hardkiffeur in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2020, 08:06 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2020, 07:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •