585,996 active members*
4,510 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New guy questions

Hi,

My name is Tom, and I'm just getting started. I have a few questions, and would deeply appreciate some advice. I run a Tool & Die shop, but have little CNC experience except a programming class and several years as a draftsman, using autocad.

I'd like to get myself started with a sort of entry level set up, 3 axis, something not too expensive. I have a small vertical milling machine, and a somewhat specialized grinding machine; more on that in a moment.

As far as I can tell, I'll need an extra computer, software, step motor driver(s), and servos. For the sake of simplicity, let's consider the rest my problem. If I may, I'd like to categorize my questions;

1. I need to educate myself; what books, websites, and other resources would you recomend?

2. What software would serve a newcomer like me? I've been "lurking" and get the impression Mach3 is pretty good. Any suggestions for a first timer on the software? Is there anything inexpensive I could use to get started? I'd like to use autocad files, of course, where applicable.

3. I've seen a lot of driver components advertised and discussed, as well as step motors. Where does a guy start the selection process? I know what the mechanical requirements would be, but as to compatability, etc., I'm a bit lost. Would a motor/driver package from one source be the way to go?

4. As a first project, I'd like to turn two lead screws simultaneously, on the above mentioned grinder, in increments of about 6 degrees per pass. The unit is already equipped with limit switches. Can this be done with step motors, without the need to have a computer controlling the operation?

I know how irritating ignorance can be, and am openly displaying my own, but hope some of you guys will find a few moments to respond.

Tom

Answers as folliows;