535,108 active members*
2,982 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Mach Software (ArtSoft software) > New to CNC.... Completed first build and having trouble with MACH3
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    New to CNC.... Completed first build and having trouble with MACH3

    I recently build a DIY 3 axis router and am having issues with the software set up.I have a TB6560 chinese board powered by a S-350-24 being controlled by MACH3. In the MACH3 initial set up it has you input the Step pin # and the Dir Pin# for each axis that you will be running. I have a 3-axis set up and all of the pin numbers that the manual calls for won't get the motors to run. Depending on the set up the motors will whine or attempt to move but will not. Is there a way to determine the correct pin #s for each motor output without the manual?

    I was able to get one axis to jog in both directions but somehow when I changed the pin settings on the other motors I disabled that ability. This makes me believe that my 4 wire Nema 23s are set up properly and are not the issue.

    I apologize if I am asking these questions incorrectly or if I am providing incomplete information.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    417

    Re: New to CNC.... Completed first build and having trouble with MACH3

    Check the active high/low checkboxes for both the step and direction (try the opposite of the current setting)
    Are you using the motherboard parallel port?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: New to CNC.... Completed first build and having trouble with MACH3

    Using the motherboard parallel port and checked the hi/low for both the manual suggested settings and the opposite with no luck. While looking for a solution i found some folks that had the same boards and mentioned the pin settings were wrong. They posted their pin settings but those did not work for me either. My question is how did they determine the correct set up. Did they try all the combinations until one worked or can you trace it through the board some how?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: New to CNC.... Completed first build and having trouble with MACH3

    The cord is a straight through pin type. What is throwing me is I will have the z-axis working both directions with a step pin# and dir pin # and when I change pin settings on Mach 3 for the X and Y axis it will disable the motor for the Z axis somehow. Once the motor is disabled it won't start working again with the same pin settings even after the signal to the X and Y axis is unchecked.

    Anybody run into this problem before?

Similar Threads

  1. 2nd 3D printer build completed
    By EL34 in forum General 3D Printer / 3D Scanner Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-26-2013, 12:38 PM
  2. 12 x 24 Build completed, running!
    By Thinwater in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2012, 03:36 AM
  3. Build completed
    By GoFaster in forum Joes CNC Model 2006
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 03:56 AM
  4. Another JGRO Build Completed
    By Dantourin in forum JGRO Router Table Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 05:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •