504,350 active members
3,683 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 13
  1. #1

    Question NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Hi everyone,
    I bought a used home-made CNC router together with PC. Everything worked fine, sometime later PC went crazy and without much consideration I replaced HDD for SSD and re-installed WINDOWS only to later realize that all the setup in MACH3 was gone. Since I have no knowledge of building CNC and I have no way of contacting previous owner who made this machine, I'm stuck with good non-working CNC.
    I watched some videos, read some articles and tried some pin variations, but no success.
    What I can tell, is I have MD882 board.

    Can anyone help me with setting up this machine again.
    Your help would me very much appreciated.

    Andrew.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I bought a used home-made CNC router together with PC. Everything worked fine, sometime later PC went crazy and without much consideration I replaced HDD for SSD and re-installed WINDOWS only to later realize that all the setup in MACH3 was gone. Since I have no knowledge of building CNC and I have no way of contacting previous owner who made this machine, I'm stuck with good non-working CNC.
    I watched some videos, read some articles and tried some pin variations, but no success.
    What I can tell, is I have MD882 board.

    Can anyone help me with setting up this machine again.
    Your help would me very much appreciated.

    Andrew.
    Do you have the old HDD still? If so you should be able to connect that drive and get the XML file out of the MACH3 directory.


    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  3. #3

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Nope, it's wiped!t

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    Nope, it's wiped!t
    That does suck...
    The board you reference looks to be a motor driver..
    Do you know what breakout board it is. Can you take some pics


    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  5. #5

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by truckeic View Post
    That does suck...
    The board you reference looks to be a motor driver..
    Do you know what breakout board it is. Can you take some pics


    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

    Yeah sure.
    Please tell me You understand something here ))
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_20190516_152929.jpg   IMG_20190516_152932.jpg   IMG_20190516_152935.jpg   IMG_20190516_152938.jpg   IMG_20190516_152944.jpg  

    IMG_20190516_152958.jpg  

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    Yeah sure.
    Please tell me You understand something here ))
    Ok your control board is a CNC4PC board. I cant see which version should be like C and some numbers. That would help some.

    The last pic you sent shows the motor outs. If you trace the org/wht pairs and the blu/wht pair from the Drivers (Looks like they are labeled X y and Z) back to the board you can figure out motor drives. the white wires are probably +5 volts and the blue is probably step and org is direction. You can look at the driver and verify. The 4 wires bottom right in picture 6 are probably spindle drives. You can trace them to the VFD. If you can get me a closer shot of the rest of the connections I can try and help further...

  7. #7

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    You're amazing.
    Ill be in workshop Friday, will take more photos then!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    You're amazing.
    Ill be in workshop Friday, will take more photos then!
    Your mill us way more than I have...
    But I have a CNC4PC board a C11G.

    You must have a 3phase spindle. I have jus a DC motor.
    Not amazing folks here helped me lots I only hope I can help..

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    You're amazing.
    Ill be in workshop Friday, will take more photos then!
    did you take any new pics

  10. #10

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by truckeic View Post
    did you take any new pics
    Hi. Yeah, sorry, I did take more pictures. Hope they mean something more. Maybe You need something closer!?

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1980

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    later to night when I can use my own computer
    I'll download the breakout manual and try to workout which are the step signals and which are the direction signals to the stepper drivers

    I expect in Mach3's ports & pins
    pins 2 to 6 are the step and direction for your 3 axis drivers
    its not easy to see if 7 & 8 are for a 4th axis or possibly control a couple of relays for on/off & direction control of the spindle

    a wide shot of inside of the control box will help

    John

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: NEWBIE - Pins & Mach3 setup for CNC router

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_Waldmen View Post
    Hi. Yeah, sorry, I did take more pictures. Hope they mean something more. Maybe You need something closer!?
    Can you let us know what the model of the board is..

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. newbie question on step by step cutting setup/ process in Mach3
    By Matt Clara in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-27-2014, 07:36 AM
  2. New CNC Router Setup Tool For Use With Mach3
    By CambiumMachines in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2011, 02:47 PM
  3. G201/Mach3, ports and pins setup
    By xander18 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 07:41 PM
  4. Where am I going wrong with ports and pins setup?
    By phantomcow2 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 03:27 AM
  5. Pins setup for gecko G 201
    By engraver in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 07:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •