545,750 active members*
2,256 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    Hello to everyone,
    Any help on this or suggestions would be great

    Question ? Would it be possible to include into Gcode, somehow to soften the spindle start so it revs up slower, limiting the amp draw ? Dwell or something else ?
    I have a Okuma LB10 (1980s Model) with Fanuc Drive and OSP5000 control. I have tried to insert a Dwell command ( G04) with spindle speeds to ramp up but its not accepting this.
    I get 417 ALARM-B program factor illegal char.

    Any help would be much appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    348

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    The only way i see that you will be able to ramp up the spindle to reduce amps would be to use g96 CSS at the time you index to a new tool (the index point on the LB15 the i program is maxed out in X)
    limit the rpm to what you want to go G50S2000 and when you get to the point of starting say a drill turn it of g97 s2000 then drill your part

    the dwell method only does a step up causing the motor to try and get to the correct rpm before moving to the next command ( should be smaller spikes in amps)

    N2(DRILL)
    G50S2000( when it gets to max rpm(2000 in this ex) going to 0.000 it will hold it at the programmed rate)
    G0G95G96M3S350T0202M42M8
    G0X0.Z.100
    G97S2000

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    Thanks for the info , very good of you to offer some help.
    i will try it later see how it works ....

    So it would mean i need to do a tool change every time i wish to ramp up spindle speed ?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1578

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    You can slow down X axis if you use constant cutting speeed. In case of G97 you just command desired spindle speed in small steps.
    G04 should work as well. Is it so, that dwell is out of control specification? Maybe some parameter setting prevents it?

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    348

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    If you leave CSS ( G96) it will ramp up and down every time you go to the home position
    I would advise you to turn it off for threading - get it to speed and the turn off CSS with G97
    if you are drilling the g50 would clamp it to your desired RPM and there would be no need to turn it off.
    the g50 would be what you change each tool at the beginning of each tool
    if you are turning it will vary by what you diameter you are turning the larger dia. the lower the rpm
    With out the g50 clamping the rpm you could go to maximum rpm for the machine

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    Quote Originally Posted by Algirdas View Post
    You can slow down X axis if you use constant cutting speeed. In case of G97 you just command desired spindle speed in small steps.
    G04 should work as well. Is it so, that dwell is out of control specification? Maybe some parameter setting prevents it?
    unfortunately i cant get the G4 dwell to work for some reason , perhaps how im using in the Gcode. But I tried lots of different things with the dwell ...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    ok i will try this and see how it works.

    Do you know if a generator works with the older Okumas laths?
    I dont currently have enough power to use with max spindle speeds etc and would cost a fortune to have 3phase connected here.
    So my only option is to use a generator.
    Any thoughts ?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1578

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    Sure, Okuma will work powered by generator. Make sure to use the one powerfull enough.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    ok thanks
    any suggestions in the size of the generator?
    The Lathe is LB10 with 10hp spindle motor
    on the power supply it says 23 kva .
    because of what ive seen so far not sure of the amps required on spindle start up.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1578

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    23kVA or higher. Check the specifications of the lathe power supply if max is mentioned there. Is it equipped with massive transformer?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    The Transformer says 23KVA on it , and the machine plate says 18 kva.
    But from what i have read thats not what the spindle draws on acceleration.
    im doing tests on the amps it draws now , so ill figure it out.
    Thanks anyway.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1578

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    Spindle power capacity is not so important. The Power Supply Unit and the Spindle Drive are equipped with big capacitors helping to power up the motor for short moments.
    Check the design of the big transformer. Possible, you can play with voltages if the transformer has many terminals. So you can win about 10% applying smart wiring. Take care - make sure the secondary voltage is not too high.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Okuma 10 spindle Soft start Gcode Required

    ok Thanks for the info

Similar Threads

  1. Spindle soft start delay
    By justinj in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2017, 04:25 AM
  2. Spindle at the start of gcode
    By atillax in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2016, 06:11 PM
  3. Soft limits - gcode line
    By thomasfreedy in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2014, 05:09 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2014, 07:14 PM
  5. Soft Start for Spindle on Syil SX3 Mill using G Code
    By Chrisjh in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 06:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •