562,489 active members*
3,678 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    23

    Unhappy OKUMA OSP 5020L

    I need help

    I’m new with OKUMA OSP 5020L and I have problem with
    writing the program. I write the program on this way:

    %
    O0001
    N0000 G13
    N0001 G00 X0. Z0. S1200 T0505 G42 G03
    N0002 GO2

    But the machine doesn’t start working
    In EDIT I see the whole program but in AUTO it doesn’t show the beginning.

    Please help me

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028
    G13? is this a twin turret machine?
    You also need a G50Sxxx at the beginning of the program.
    Your also turning on cutter comp and a circular tool path in a rapid move, with preparatory functions.
    Then you have another circular move without any positions.

    Think you better learn some basic programming before typing gibberish in to the control, your going to hurt someone, yourself or the machine.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    287
    As an adder, the reason you show only some of the program is because, i can only imagine, this is either a twin turret or twin spindle machine.
    The G13 is the upper turret, so you probably have a G14 somewhere as well and you are displaying the lower turret part of the program; ie: anything after G14.
    This, however, is the least of your problems.
    As he --> (underthetire) said, you should probably get into a basic G/M code programming class before you take an otherwise capable machine and rapidly reduce it to scrap iron.
    Not trying to be insulting, but sometimes you must start with the basics before anything else can even be explained.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1234
    Of course you must be safe & I always suggest turn on single block with Feedrate down during any program prove out. That being said you have two issues here. First one is do not start a program with the "O" - that is for subprograms so dump that line. Second issue is there's no M2 at the end of your program so it never sees an end of program & cannot run an automatic mode. Obviously as the other guys said your code is lacking, but it should at least show up now.

    Best regards,

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1720
    G03 can't be in the line with G00
    GO2 isn't a command. G02 perhaps?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    23
    I would like to start from the beginning but when i bought the machine there wasn't any documentation with it. So I'm trying to do something by myself. I made a program and I thing it's working

    Attachment 209230


    But when I start on AUTO it shows me alarm

    Attachment 209232

    And i don't know what the problem is ...

    Please help me

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1234
    You evidently have a sub-spindle machine, so you will need to tell it which spindle you are working with: G140 is for the Left spindle and G141 is for the Right spindle. If it is a 2 turret machine, you will need to have it as the first line on each turret.

    G13
    G140
    ~
    ~
    G14
    G141
    ~
    ~
    M2

    So, What model are you working on? LT, LU, LR??

    Best Regards,

  8. #8
    Flies Fast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2909
    Quote Originally Posted by nikolamkd View Post
    N0005 G97 G00 X80. Z80. G42 S1000 M03
    The thing that stands out to me is the M42 ( Hi speed range ) with a spindle speed of 1000, try M41 instead, or remove it completely
    - & also, possibly the use of 2 M-codes on the same line

    I'd break that line up into 2 separate lines
    G97 S1000 M42
    G0 X80. Y80. M3

    Also, run the code in single block, so that the machine stops on the line that is causing the errors

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    5

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    I have Okuma LNC8 lathe,( diagram A40003 ), I Want to realize retrofit, help me about type control experience.

    Please help me.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1234

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    What do you want to retrofit? Are you sure it's 5020 and not 700 control on LNC8?

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    5

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    Quote Originally Posted by OkumaWiz View Post
    What do you want to retrofit? Are you sure it's 5020 and not 700 control on LNC8?
    My present is 5020 and I want to update Control , I have not experience in this, I need to know that current control is the most used for okuma around LNC8

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1234

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    The 5020 is a great control and you will spend a lot of money to update the control. Software updates and options are available through your Okuma rep if that's the route you are looking at. The latest is the P300 which is windows based if you are looking to really upgrade to a new control, but you'd be better off to buy a new machine rather than try to upgrade the control in my opinion. The 5020 has more capability than most people ever use or even realize is there.

    Best regards,

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    5

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    Quote Originally Posted by OkumaWiz View Post
    The 5020 is a great control and you will spend a lot of money to update the control. Software updates and options are available through your Okuma rep if that's the route you are looking at. The latest is the P300 which is windows based if you are looking to really upgrade to a new control, but you'd be better off to buy a new machine rather than try to upgrade the control in my opinion. The 5020 has more capability than most people ever use or even realize is there.

    Best regards,
    I thought about making a uprage because in the CPU lathe does not have the Main Board II, Bubble Card and Main Card, the CRP Board II, and Power Supply card does not work and market these three cards I traded up to $ 4700 .

    The lathe is used and I buy in these conditions.

    Or only with the card power supply is enough to get it working lathe

    Best Regards

  14. #14
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    Don't forget 3500 in software if you are missing the memory card and don't have the original disks.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1234

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    You will need all of the missing cards and the power supply as well as the software that underthetire mentions. Without them the machine cannot control the drive units. You may be able to find parts on eBay or elsewhere for a reduced price , but you'll still need the software. It is machine specific for the options and hardware on your machine.

    Best of luck,

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    7

    Re: OKUMA OSP 5020L

    Hello. I need software for OKUMA LR-15. I'm willing to buy it if anyone has it

    My mail is 0674333691nikita@gmail.com

Similar Threads

  1. okuma lr 15m osp 5020l
    By Sheena on in forum Okuma
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2013, 11:15 AM
  2. okuma lr 15m osp 5020l
    By Sheena on in forum Okuma
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2013, 06:30 PM
  3. Okuma OSP 5020L
    By BrianM03 in forum Okuma
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 04:13 PM
  4. With Okuma BL-2 50A and OSP 5020L
    By marfranso in forum Okuma
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 09:13 AM
  5. Okuma OSP 5020L
    By al-108 in forum Okuma
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 09:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •