532,236 active members*
3,550 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > OSP5000 parameter backup
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    OSP5000 parameter backup

    Hi!

    I'm new in the forum but "struggled" with my old Okuma lathe and some home brewed Mach projects for couple decades as a hobbyist.

    The type of the Okuma lathe is LS 30 N and it is still working fine even though it is from the beginning of 80's. OS is OSP5000.

    For some reason I have started to worry if the machine could lost its parameters or something similar, maybe due to battery dying or such things.

    Are there any way to take the back up of the vital parameters? I do not have any disks or softwares for the machine, exept some simple data transfer program that I have used on moving g-code file in between Okuma and PC.

    Thanks,
    Juha

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    You can use data-pip if it has it, problem is, if it looses parameters it looses machine software as well, and that can't be backed up. Original 5000 would have been on paper tape, then sent on 8 inch floppy! Problem with both those, tape readers are usually dead by now, and unless the dealer has been around for a long time, won't have the 8" floppy drive and board set. So, a lot of money to get software from okuma on more modern media, a new ram board since bubble memory is long gone, and a service call. The only things you can really do, keep the cabinet clean, and make sure all your fans are working.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    Could you elaborate this data-pip a bit, please. The thing is, the user interface is in Finnish and I can't recall that I'd seen any pip there. Should I search it under some particular menu os so?
    I am using RS232 port for data transfer. I guess it has been installed on parallel with the tape reader (maybe puncher as well), but I've never used that and I doubt it would be working anymore (like you said).

    Cheers,
    Juha

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    Been a long time, if I remember correctly, there would be a data pip soft key when your in parameter page. Works the same as std pip, but will default output to A.Top. this old of 5000 may not have it, not sure if that was implemented then or on the 5000-lg.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    the DATA PIP procedure is in the manual.
    See the attached specific pages....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DATA_PIP.pdf  

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    has anyone managed to do this? i have lb12 with osp5000 control, thanks

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1102

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    If no DATA PIP is available as explained, the next best thing is to take screen shots of your parameter pages so you at least have a reference to go to. I'd suggest taking your Offsets? and Zero set pages as well and if you still have the Management Data card in the back of the electrical cabinet, capture that as well. That way if you do get to the point where a software reload is required, you won't be in the dark as to where you were. Like underthetire says,(he's spot on) I'm not sure if the 5000 control had DATA PIP, but I know the L-G did have it. It will print out or download a text file that lists all Tools, Offsets, and Parameters, thus the .TOP extension name.
    Experience is what you get just after you needed it.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: OSP5000 parameter backup

    thanks for the answer, these are difficult things for me to do, I can only try to do something with a person who is prepared and knows the procedures well, I am not suitable, I hope to find someone to help me in this, miolb12 is in German language, I would like to do two things, back up and change language

Similar Threads

  1. Fanuc 0T-A Parameter Backup
    By NetblindPaul in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2013, 08:11 PM
  2. parameter backup reqiired
    By radhakrishnan in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-27-2013, 01:02 PM
  3. Fanuc 6T (no CRT) parameter backup
    By laka in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2012, 08:41 AM
  4. Fanuc 10m parameter backup
    By jooops in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2012, 09:05 PM
  5. Parameter Backup
    By cncboy1 in forum Okuma
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 07:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •