584,863 active members*
4,933 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Parker SSD Easyrider help?

Parker SSD Easyrider help?

I'm a hobbiest and total newbie to servos, but it looks like I will be getting some SSD 635 servo drives and matched motors. I have had a quick look at the SSD site and found the 635 ref manuals and had a quick look.

It seems that the drives require easyrider software to set them up?

Is this the case, is there an easy way to set them up for step/dir inputs (I will be using emc2).

Can anyone send a copy of the software(or can the drives be configured via serial terminal?), the SSD web site don't seem to have it.

I hope to get the drives middle of the week after next but want to be able to get all the backgound stuff setup beforehand.

Any one give any suggestions about setup of these servos?

What else might I need to get hold of to interface and setup these drives (PC serial/parallel cables, setup software, best type of settings for use with emc2, etc....)

Post found

I just did a search and found this rather interesting post:

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...311#post128311

doubly interesting as I think that the servos that I got on Ebay may be the exact same ones in the above post.

So looks like this may be a hard one to solve as may be the previous owner could not get them to work?, I won't know until my brother brings the servos when he visits at easter.

I think I may have cracked it

Looks as though the servos may be salvagable, I hope to actually know for definite this weekend when I get some help in the workshop.

I may make a full post on "how to setup an ssd 635 servo", provided everything goes as planned.

Easyrider config

Just a quick post showing config of the 635 servo drive using easyrider.

I will when i get time show how I managed to fix the drives (thanks to the help of ssd excellent tech support).