550,246 active members*
3,230 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    22

    Path Pilot on non Tormach

    I have a basic question. Can Path Pilot be used on a diy cnc conversion? If so what would be required to complete this? Thanks.


    John

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    382

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    Read through the pathpilot forum at LinuxCNC. Lots of info ...

    https://forum.linuxcnc.org/pathpilot

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1424

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    Quote Originally Posted by n2xd View Post
    I have a basic question. Can Path Pilot be used on a diy cnc conversion? If so what would be required to complete this? Thanks.
    Check the Novakon forum. Quite a few people there made the conversion.
    Tim
    Tormach 1100-3, Grizzly G0709 lathe, Clausing 8520 mill, SolidWorks, HSMWorks.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    330

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    Quote Originally Posted by tmarks11 View Post
    Check the Novakon forum. Quite a few people there made the conversion.
    Bit late to the party, but I was one of the folks that got PathPilot running on a Novakon Torus pro.

    I just finished getting Pathpilot running on a grizzly mill conversion running a PMDX126 bob and a Mesa 7i92h. Getting ready to do a grizzly lathe conversion with path pilot.

    Scott...
    Instructional Videos for CNC Guitar Building
    http://www.rmgvideos.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    49

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    My shop built gantry machine is running PP with a PMDX132 and Mesa 7i92h. In a month or 2 I expect to have my KC1022 (like G0602/0752) lathe running as well.

    Gerrit

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    304

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    Be interested is seeing these lathe conversions. I've got a standard-modern running under linuxcnc but would like to have something different for the GUI, and if it even remotely resembled my 1100 that would be a bonus
    M

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    330
    I plan to start my lathe in the next couple weeks. I keep tweaking the mill install to get it perfect.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mooser View Post
    Be interested is seeing these lathe conversions. I've got a standard-modern running under linuxcnc but would like to have something different for the GUI, and if it even remotely resembled my 1100 that would be a bonus
    M
    Instructional Videos for CNC Guitar Building
    http://www.rmgvideos.com

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    1

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    The "Long path tool" easiest solution out of the bunch is to simply shorten the name of the parent folder. But as you can imagine, this is not always applicable. This method is not applicable if you have a lot of files that are exceeding the length restriction limit.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    yes very doable got small X2 on PP with Mesa 5i25 and Geko G540.

    I would say look up in the forum posted by the others here.
    Figure out what electronics you want to use.
    Then you need to update the Hal and config file in PP for your setup.

    I went to PP cause Mach3 wasn't working well for me(could of been the computer not Mach3 fault).
    And the PP look and feel looked really good to me over the linuxcnc one.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    999

    Re: Path Pilot on non Tormach

    IF you set it up as a model that uses say a 7i92 card (ethernet) then it becomes simple as you just wire it up to fit the card I/O and you are basically done. The trick is to get a PC that will run that version of PP (linux) . Linux can be sensitive to hardware in Linux. Too new of hardware and there are no drivers to run it in Linux. Been there done that one. OR you can just buy the PC from Tormach (;-)

    (;-) TP

Similar Threads

  1. Path Pilot 2.0 Get Ready!!! Tormach has a page for it now!
    By Contract_Pilot in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 12-25-2017, 03:45 AM
  2. Buying Path Pilot from Tormach
    By thumper650 in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-28-2017, 02:08 PM
  3. Mastercam X8 and Tormach Path Pilot
    By jt8501 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2016, 06:27 PM
  4. What comes with Tormach's path pilot?
    By 1abrat in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-26-2015, 08:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •