585,743 active members*
5,063 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Post processor for ArtCam/Isel CPM 4030 ?

    Hi,

    I asked some advice recently from ArtCam forum but didn't got any help yet, so I'll try next from here...

    I bought recently a Isel CPM 4030 mill and now seeking post processor that works with RemoteLT controlling software. I have contacted my AC reseller and tried to work out the issues, but seems hard to find solution that fixes the problems. Program runs the code but arcs are small lines that makes the process very slow.

    Here is code that should run 50mm circle, but stops two times at the beginning and half way of the circle... This is done with edited post processor and here those half circles goes smoothly. I also tested several posts from ArtCam and for example Mach2, Proma and Charly G code posts worked but arcs were handled as small lines.

    IMF_PBL_V1.0 - PICTURES BY PC
    ;**********************************
    ;Type: Alcami Soloutions
    ;Machine: Isel from Unimatic soloutions
    ;**********************************
    SPINDLE OFF
    COOLANT OFF
    GETTOOL 1
    SPINDLE CW RPM15000
    SPINDLE ON
    FASTABS X0 Y0
    FASTABS Z20000
    COOLANT ON
    FASTABS X-25000 Y0 Z20000
    VEL 9000
    MOVEABS Z0
    VEL 10800
    stops here
    CWABS I25000 J0 X0 Y25003 VEL 10800
    CWABS I0 J-25002 X25000 Y0
    and here
    CWABS I-25000 J-0 X0 Y-25003
    CWABS I-0 J25002 X-25000 Y0
    VEL 149985
    FASTABS Z20000
    FASTABS X0
    FASTABS
    FASTABS X0
    SPINDLE OFF
    COOLANT OFF
    PROGEND


    I'm looking at the posibility to change the stepper motor controllers to Gecko G540 so I could use Mach3 control software instead of RemoteLT, but meanwhile the post for IMC4 controllers is needed.

    Thank you for any help!


    Cheers,

    -niko-
    -ArtCam 9.1 - Roland JWX-10 - Venture VPE 50 Venice-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4553

    Post

    Niko,


    I have a CPM 4030, the control is a boat anchor @@..!

    Installing the G540 in its place is not very difficult.

    Open the back you will be surprised to see DB9 connectors all ready on the stepper drive cables.

    The pin outs are not the same as the G540 but that is easy to rectify.

    A 48 volt power supply will also be required.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4553

    Post

    Niko,

    Here is the programing manual.

    http://www.isel-data.de/manuals/DATE...20Englisch.pdf

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Jeff,

    I have opened my mill back cover and given some "light healing" already... Have you fitted G540 in to your mill, there is lots of space back there? I haven't got any 100% info about the steppers so don't know which resistors do I need to go with G540, pin chart I found from Isel homepages where I downloaded the manual. Have you used the Remote controlling sw or some else? I think original E-stop and power switches can also be used with Gecko, but haven't done the research yet what are the right wires. Do you have rotary axis also in your CPM?

    Regards,

    -niko-
    -ArtCam 9.1 - Roland JWX-10 - Venture VPE 50 Venice-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4553

    Post

    Niko,

    Does your machine have the MS-135HT steppers?

    If it does use a 3.48K resistor.

    We used the original Estop and home-limit switches.

    We use Mach3 and have a rotary axis also.

    We junked the original controller a long time ago.

    Jeff...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the info Jeff,

    MS 135HT is my first guess but my Isel reseller told me that there is other possible type, MS 058HT. Do you happen to have any wire chart for the machine or did you just measure all those cables to fit them to the right place? Did you ever took a photo from the trunk of your mill

    What spindle motor do you have in your mill?

    -niko-
    -ArtCam 9.1 - Roland JWX-10 - Venture VPE 50 Venice-

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4553

    Post

    Niko,

    Sorry never took any pictures of the CPM internals.

    We had a wiring diagram for the mill however we still used a VOM multimeter to determine which wires were which.

    The spindle motor is a Kress 800 FME 110V, Isel has them private labeled.

    The MS 058HT stepper is 2.6 amp rated, the nearest resistor without applying excessive current would be 2.4K.

    The MS 058HT has less than half the rated torque of the MS 135HT
    it would not be a good choice for your mill.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Similar Threads

  1. MACH3 Post Processor for ArtCAM
    By TomL21 in forum Screen Layouts, Post Processors & Misc
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 02:56 AM
  2. Artcam Post Processor For SMC 1500 software
    By Brenck in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 09:54 PM
  3. Mach post processor for Artcam
    By mikie in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 02:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •