534,927 active members*
3,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Post Processors for MC > post processors for master cam v9.0
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    post processors for master cam v9.0

    i am very new to the world of mastercam i am having problems with posting a program in the order in which i am used to writing g-code. i am using a standard post mpfan.pst which is a generic post for fanuc controllers. when i post a program i am getting alot of unwanted code. does anybody have a post for mastercam that will string the code in this manner
    %
    O0001
    (* Machine Tool : 4 Axis Machining Center)
    (* Part Name : 039951 C-1 MILL OP 1)
    G20 G0 G40 G49 G80 G90
    M5
    G0 G28 G91 Z
    G90
    T26 M06 (1/2" HSS SPOT DRILL)
    M01
    G0 G90 G54 X-2.5625 Y-0.69 S763 M3
    G43 Z3.0 H26 M8
    G98 G82 X-2.5625 Y-0.69 Z-0.175 P1.0 R0.1 F3.82
    X-1.5625
    X-0.5625
    G80
    M9
    M5
    G49
    G0 G28 G91 Z
    G90
    T08 M06 (5/16 DRILL HSS)
    M01
    G0 G90 G54 X-2.5625 Y-0.69 S1221 M3
    G43 Z3.0 H8 M8
    G98 G83 X-2.5625 Y-0.69 Z-0.9189 Q0.12 R0.1 F6.11
    X-1.5625
    X-0.5625
    G80
    M9
    M5
    G49
    G0 G28 G91 Z
    G90
    T04 M06 (3/8-16 UNC TAP)
    M01
    G0 G90 G54 X-0.5625 Y-0.69 S75 M3
    G43 Z3.0 H4 M8
    G98 G84 X-0.5625 Y-0.69 Z-1.625 J1 R0.1 F4.69
    X-1.5625 J1
    X-2.5625 J1
    G80
    M9
    M5
    G49
    G0 G28 G91 Z
    G90
    T18 M06 (5/16 CARBIDE IN MILL 4 FL)
    M01
    G0 G90 G54 X-30.3725 Y-0.7445 S3664 M3
    G43 Z3.0 H18 M8
    Z0.1
    G1 Z-0.8 F50.0
    Y-0.7135 F18.32
    G3 X-30.3725 Y-0.7865 I0.0 J-0.0365 F14.0
    G1 X-25.8125 F18.32
    G3 X-25.8125 Y-0.7135 I0.0 J0.0365 F14.0
    G1 X-30.3725 F18.32
    G3 X-30.3725 Y-0.7865 I0.0 J-0.0365 F14.0
    G1 X-25.8125 F18.32
    G3 X-25.8125 Y-0.7135 I0.0 J0.0365 F14.0
    G1 X-30.3725 F18.32
    Y-0.7445
    G0 Z3.0
    M9
    M5
    G49
    G0 G28 G91 Z
    G90
    T05 M06 (1/4" CARB ENGRAVING)
    M01
    G0 G90 G54 X-34.3796 Y-1.7563 S5000 M3
    G43 Z3.0 H5 M8
    Z0.1
    G1 Z-0.075 F50.0
    X-34.5917 Y-1.5442 F60.0
    X-34.6067 Y-1.5292
    G2 X-34.625 Y-1.485 I0.0442 J0.0442
    G1 Y-0.015
    G2 X-34.6067 Y0.0292 I0.0625 J0.0
    G1 X-34.5917 Y0.0442
    X-34.3796 Y0.2563
    G0 Z3.0
    X-0.2454
    Z0.1
    G1 Z-0.075 F50.0
    X-0.0333 Y0.0442 F60.0
    X-0.0183 Y0.0292
    G2 X0.0 Y-0.015 I-0.0442 J-0.0442
    G1 Y-1.485
    G2 X-0.0183 Y-1.5292 I-0.0625 J0.0
    G1 X-0.0333 Y-1.5442
    X-0.2454 Y-1.7563
    G0 Z3.0
    X-30.3725 Y-0.7475
    Z0.1
    G1 Z-0.075 F50.0
    G3 X-30.3725 Y-0.6225 I0.0 J0.0625 F60.0
    X-30.3725 Y-0.8775 I0.0 J-0.1275 F45.0
    G1 X-25.8125 F60.0
    G3 X-25.8125 Y-0.6225 I0.0 J0.1275 F45.0
    G1 X-30.3725 F60.0
    G3 X-30.3725 Y-0.7475 I0.0 J-0.0625
    G0 Z3.0
    M9
    M5
    G49
    G28 G91 Z
    G28 G91 Y
    G90
    M30
    %
    if anyone can help i would appreciate it
    thanks in advance ken

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    139
    Did you read the first post in this sub-forum???

    Asking for a Post Processor...

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Ask this question as your first message and you might not get the response you expected. Developing custom posts is long, difficult work, and most people that have built thier own or paid for them are probably not going to be willing to give it away for free.

    Mastercam comes with posts for most machines that are good starting points right out of the box. Often times customizations are required or desired. Your first course of action should be to search the CD for a post for your machine. From there, you might ask for help to change specific items in your post. Most post developers are very willing to share code snipits or give advice on editing posts to attain desired results.

    If you can't find the post you want, try your dealer next. They should be able to help you locate one.
    __________________
    Matt
    CNCzone Administrator
    San Diego, Ca

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    thanks for your reply mastercamguru

    thanks for your reply mastercamguru, and yes configuring a post program is very time consumming, but the end result is very rewarding. i spent the last two evenings until 2:00am getting this post right and i finally got it. You replied "Ask this question as your first message and you might not get the response you expected" your right it is a long process and most people probally wouldn't give there custom posts away, i did not realise they were of value. This post was for my own personal use at home and didn't think it would be a big deal for one machinist to help another machinist out. then i thought about it, if a company paid for a custom post your probally not just going to forward it to anybody. thanks

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    SORRY EVERYONE

    I had no idea that post processor files were such a valuable item.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    139

    Smile

    KEN:
    I don't mean to scare you away from the forum That is not my goal.

    I paid $1500.00 for a high end post a few years ago, and out of lack of wanting to "pay up" again, I learned to read and edit MP language . (Post Processor Code).

    The guys that write them for Mastercam have Masters' Degrees, and for good reason.


    I will help you with any modifications you need to do, but I will not provide custom posts for anyone.

    I made the mistake of doing this already, and will follow through with my offer because I am a man of his word.

    If you need any help customizing your post I am more than happy to help.

    Just ask for it.......Just don't ask for a Free post".....I want a teaching/mentor relationship, not a one-way relationship.

    If you are willing to learn, I am willing to teach.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5
    MASTERGURU:

    Thanks for your offer and the insight as to what i was asking for. I had no idea that a post file could cost that much. i have been programming cnc machining centers for 24 years, 20 of those years were without software and was very time consuming. But i have never wrote a post program or even seen one until the beginning of last week. i am happy to say that i have edited 3 posts over the weekend(not that i need three, only one)with great success, my programs are posting the way i want them to post.

    thanks ken

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    Mastecam Post processors. "Have some but there not right"

    Hi Ken, I'm struggling to get Mastercam V9 post processors sorted for a Bridgeport series 2 cnc on Boss 6.2 and for an Agiecut 100 wire machine.

    The problem I have is that the guy who does som cad-camming with me is a whizz on Mastercam but we can't post to the machine even though he has a bridgeport post processor of some type.

    I went on to buy BobCad-cam software with all the Milling and wire pro programs which comes with post processors for my machines and even incorporates Predator, the DNC software.

    The only problem is the cad-cam guy doesn't like the software so i'm forced back to trying to produce good post proceesor files from the mastercam so I can send.

    Looks like I lost all my money on the BobCad-Cam software.....nightmare!

    I've been using a bit of shareware software called Terra Term to send 10 lines of hand written program which where copies of sample programs of machine code to the Bridgeport but I'm really struggling.

    Can you please assist me!

    Any help would be massively appreciated.4

    Thanks

    Darren

    Quote Originally Posted by mastercamguru View Post
    KEN:
    I don't mean to scare you away from the forum That is not my goal.

    I paid $1500.00 for a high end post a few years ago, and out of lack of wanting to "pay up" again, I learned to read and edit MP language . (Post Processor Code).

    The guys that write them for Mastercam have Masters' Degrees, and for good reason.


    I will help you with any modifications you need to do, but I will not provide custom posts for anyone.

    I made the mistake of doing this already, and will follow through with my offer because I am a man of his word.

    If you need any help customizing your post I am more than happy to help.

    Just ask for it.......Just don't ask for a Free post".....I want a teaching/mentor relationship, not a one-way relationship.

    If you are willing to learn, I am willing to teach.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1013
    Mastercamguru's $1500 post was probably for a high end machine with lots of High Speed Machining features. Not all posts are $1500. I write posts for a living. Some are as little as $175. Some are $3500 (5X posts). For most people, if it's a 3X fanuc compatible control and they take the time to include the correct information about their machine, it can usually be done for about $250 +/- $100. So you have to ask yourself, do you want to spend 12 hours writing a post? or would you rather pay someone $300 to get it done ASAP?

    You said something about "posts being so valued". It's not the post that has the value, it's the persons time and knowledge. What's your time worth.

    Mastercamguru just helped someone write a post for a Fanuc 7 (I think it was). I commend him for his work. I saw the output code in these messages. He did a good job. I knew when I saw the request, it wouldn't be impossible, but it wouldn't be a quick post modification. I'm sure it was an excellent learning experience. Then you have to watch out for the... "Oh can you fix this one more thing..." . :-)

    Mike Mattera
    Tips For Manufacturing Training CD's, DVD's for Mastercam, SolidWorks, Inventor, G-Code Training & More
    http://www.tipsforcadcam.com

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    139
    Daz1973 --- Can you post some sample code that works?

    Maybe I can get you cutting some chips.

    I'm sure I can find something close for the mill ... not sure about the wire edm.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    139

    Smile

    Mike --- That $1500.00 included a guru for the day to make sure all was well .

    That guru's name is Steven Beihl .. S4A ... nice guy.


    http://www.s4a.us/

    I still bump into him once in a while on the Emastercam developer's forum.

  11. #11

    Posts, Posts, & more Posts

    I have edited Mastercam posts from V9 now thru X3 for Fanuc/Haas posts.

    When I started out, first, make a copy of the post you want to modify and use that as your custom. NEVER OVERWRITE your original post.

    The way I started out was just looking for the code you want, find out the variable and start moving from there.

    With the MasterCam X platform, you can change alot of things through the front side of the control with the Control Definition Manger and the Machine Definition Manager. That has made alot of things better.

    The layout of the code is where things get a little more complicated, but doable.

    I have had to make a post for a machine that has a Tool Change Location move prior to tool change, so the post will spit that code out everytime there is a toolchange.

    The last shop I worked at wanted a "M01" after the toolchange, and that was fairly easy, but we did not use "Sequence Numbers" throughout the program, but it was how we started off a new toolpath, example, T1M6 had an N1 before it, T2M6 had an N2, etc., this took some doing, but possible.

    I would just say read through the code and figure out the variables. It's doable, but time consuming.

    Mike in MN
    http://www.cncbasics.com
    http://www.cncbasicsforum.com
    www.cncbasics.com

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    966
    We asked our dealer about a post for our Nakamura Tome TW-20. They said they would have to buy that post. Cost to us $2600. We didn't get one.

    I program this lathe and prefer manual programming, so it isn't a big deal for me. Other lathe programmer only uses MasterCam. I am older than he is, tho I may not be able to retire before he does.

    Regardless sometime down the road this lathe may need a post processor. I don't expect to live forever. LOL. From what little I've seen, finding a replacement for me that understands g-code programming won't be all that easy. Everyone likes to use software programs. Guess I will be spending some time trying to develop a post for the TW-20.

    I'm sure I will be asking for help sometime down the road.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3

    Re: post processors for master cam v9.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Mattera View Post
    Mastercamguru's $1500 post was probably for a high end machine with lots of High Speed Machining features. Not all posts are $1500. I write posts for a living. Some are as little as $175. Some are $3500 (5X posts). For most people, if it's a 3X fanuc compatible control and they take the time to include the correct information about their machine, it can usually be done for about $250 +/- $100. So you have to ask yourself, do you want to spend 12 hours writing a post? or would you rather pay someone $300 to get it done ASAP?

    You said something about "posts being so valued". It's not the post that has the value, it's the persons time and knowledge. What's your time worth.

    Mastercamguru just helped someone write a post for a Fanuc 7 (I think it was). I commend him for his work. I saw the output code in these messages. He did a good job. I knew when I saw the request, it wouldn't be impossible, but it wouldn't be a quick post modification. I'm sure it was an excellent learning experience. Then you have to watch out for the... "Oh can you fix this one more thing..." . :-)

    Mike Mattera
    Looking for a post for mastercam X6 on an old Daytron M3. I will pay for it.

Similar Threads

  1. Post processors....
    By jame5m28 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2015, 12:28 PM
  2. how do I set my post processors
    By Alan0166 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2015, 08:15 AM
  3. post processors
    By Alisson Felipe in forum EdgeCam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 02:11 PM
  4. Post Processors
    By spark14 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 01:26 PM
  5. post processors
    By littlerob in forum Okuma
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 06:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •