531,620 active members*
3,790 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > PlanetCNC > "Probe Lock" for G00 and G01 travel possible?
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    "Probe Lock" for G00 and G01 travel possible?

    Hi

    I noticed that I can enable "Probe Lock" for Jogging. This stops the jog movement correctly when my probe gets triggered. That's quiet useful to avoide breaking the probe when moving it against an obstacle.
    However this only works when moving manually with the Handwheel or Keyboard.
    When moving with G00 and G01 a triggered probe is ignored.
    I know that I can set the Estop options for the Probe (Either for the Probe in general of for the Input) But this is hart stopping everything. Is it somehow possible to get just a movement stop like with the jogging but for G00 and G01?

    I sometimes have the issue that I got the numbers wrong in the probing dialog and the Probe plunges down into the Workpiece during the automatic measurement (Tab for example), a probe lock would prevent any damage to the Probe.
    On the Other hand my probe seems to be a bit sensitive and tends to trigger sometimes during rapid G00 moves, a full estop resets far too much of the system in this case. A movement stop till the probe is no longer triggered however would work in those cases.

    Best Regards,
    Klaus

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    708

    Re: "Probe Lock" for G00 and G01 travel possible?

    "Probe Lock" setting us used when you are manually probing. In most cases it is not needed but sometimes probe signal vibrates. This setting prevents this situation.
    You can enable "Probe EStop" setting. This will trigger e-stop is probe is triggered unexpectedly during G00, G01,.... Note that hard limits must be enabled for this to work.

Similar Threads

  1. Find Center Error "Probe Ignore, Activated at call for probe"
    By ngr1 in forum Mach Wizards, Macros, & Addons
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2020, 05:46 AM
  2. "Probe" and "Verify" not working - Mach3 & ESS
    By Mogal in forum SmoothStepper Motion Control
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2017, 07:05 PM
  3. X Axis "Goes Off Pattern", "Awry", "Skewed", "Travels"
    By DaDaDaddio in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2013, 09:59 AM
  4. Mach Probe plug in what is "maximum z height for stuck probe" option do?
    By Rich05 in forum Digitizing and Laser Digitizing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 06:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •