547,443 active members*
1,697 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    27

    Probe trigger light on

    I reported this issue as a path pilot problem to Tormach but it may be another issue.

    Using the largest path pilot now. In the pp probe screen the probe trigger light is always on, disconnecting the probe does not turn it off, nor does disconnecting the db 25 from the back of the computer. Power cycling the pcnc and the controller does not fix it either. Passive probe, worked just fine till today.

    How can I reset this input so I can use the probe and toolsetter again?

    Thanks,

    Mark

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    455

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    Quote Originally Posted by ez3022 View Post
    I reported this issue as a path pilot problem to Tormach but it may be another issue.

    Using the largest path pilot now. In the pp probe screen the probe trigger light is always on, disconnecting the probe does not turn it off, nor does disconnecting the db 25 from the back of the computer. Power cycling the pcnc and the controller does not fix it either. Passive probe, worked just fine till today.

    How can I reset this input so I can use the probe and toolsetter again?

    Thanks,

    Mark
    In Mach, there was a setting to select which probe you were using, because one is NC and one is NO. I suspect PP is defaulting to the opposite one you have, and you just have to find that setting in PP

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    27

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    I played with that setting. Even with mill disconnected from the controller the light stays on. Probe has been working fine for years. Why things suddenly changed I don't know.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    455

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    Quote Originally Posted by ez3022 View Post
    I played with that setting. Even with mill disconnected from the controller the light stays on. Probe has been working fine for years. Why things suddenly changed I don't know.
    Only other possibility I can think of is that one of the wires or connectors has come loose. I would get on the phone with Tormach support, they will be able to help you.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1670

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    The probe green indicator light is on in the probe page, to turn it off, go to settings and select digitizing probe instead of passive probe the light will be off on the probing page.
    mike sr

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    27

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    So... it appears the problem is resolved but I don't know why or how.

    With the controller and the pcnc disconnected the Accessory input indicator light was on but the Accessory Input light was off in the status screen. This was true when the controller and the pcnc were connected also. The two screens disagreed on the status of the Accessory Input. While waiting for Tormach to call me back I flipped the probe logic from passive to active in the settings screen and rebooted. I had tried this last night with no change but since I had time to kill I figured why not. I reconnected the pcnc and the controller. After the machine rebooted I plugged in the probe. The Accessory Input light on the probe screen lit up. Triggering the probe now caused the Accessory Input light to go off. Reverse logic. I changed the probe logic back to passive, rebooted, and tested again. Now the probe input is working as expected. I can't argue with success but I would sure like to understand what happened to cause this issue to suddenly appear.

    Mark

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    147

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    Quote Originally Posted by ez3022 View Post
    So... it appears the problem is resolved but I don't know why or how.

    With the controller and the pcnc disconnected the Accessory input indicator light was on but the Accessory Input light was off in the status screen. This was true when the controller and the pcnc were connected also. The two screens disagreed on the status of the Accessory Input. While waiting for Tormach to call me back I flipped the probe logic from passive to active in the settings screen and rebooted. I had tried this last night with no change but since I had time to kill I figured why not. I reconnected the pcnc and the controller. After the machine rebooted I plugged in the probe. The Accessory Input light on the probe screen lit up. Triggering the probe now caused the Accessory Input light to go off. Reverse logic. I changed the probe logic back to passive, rebooted, and tested again. Now the probe input is working as expected. I can't argue with success but I would sure like to understand what happened to cause this issue to suddenly appear.

    Mark
    I suddenly started getting the same problem. rebooting has not fixed my issue though.
    Don't Panic!

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    147

    Re: Probe trigger light on

    Tormach support solved the problem. It is my probe that has failed. I'm not certain of the details but Path Pilot looks at the last input from the accessory plug to determine the light status. I may not be describing that exactly right but the test is start a probing routine and see if the probe works when you manually trigger it. Mine did not but I had another probe I use as a tool setter which does work. now the light is out as the last accessory input was correct.
    Don't Panic!

Similar Threads

  1. renishaw probe trigger point
    By hodaka in forum Okuma
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-08-2015, 01:34 PM
  2. TP-100 Probe - Compare Performance Motion probe to IMService probe
    By dgoddard in forum Digitizing and Laser Digitizing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2013, 07:13 PM
  3. Renishaw touch trigger probe question
    By Shotout in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 06:34 PM
  4. probe false trigger
    By kendo in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 09:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •