528,076 active members*
2,873 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    2

    Problem with new PC

    I have been using a Roland EGX machine for a long time and I am new to cnc that uses Mach
    I recently bought a cnc machine that runs on its own computer and uses Mach 3.042.020. It works perfectly.
    Since I am limited by space in the workshop, I would like to transfer the cnc to the computer I have from before (PC, 64 bit, Win10).
    I bought an LPT port on pci card, installed a virtual machine with 32bit Win7, installed the same Mach, with drivers, and copied the .xml file from cnc computer.
    Mach is ok, but cnc doesn't react to it at all. Did I miss something?

    Regards,
    Midhat

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5110

    Re: Problem with new PC

    You're running a "virtual" PC but expecting it to do real work. - that sounds like a problem to me. Mach3 won't run the parallel port on a 64-bit PC, and it sounds like you didn't succeed in tricking it into doing so. Make room for the original computer that worked; Mach3 has a lot of issues with laptops, especially if it's trying to run motors through a parallel port.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    182

    Re: Problem with new PC

    Your host OS is Win10-64,so no workie for Mach 3 in VM.
    VM is using resourcec of HOST OS.
    Make no mistake between my personality and my attitude.
    My personality is who I am. My attitude depends on who you are.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    937

    Re: Problem with new PC

    To use the parallel port, you need a dedicated computer, there is pretty much no way around it. It does not need to be a complete workstation with monitor, keyboard and mouse - it can be just a bare CPU that you control remotely from your laptop.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: Problem with new PC

    Thanks to everyone for the answers.
    My Roland EGX also only runs on 32bit, so I run it from a virtual machine on a 64 bit host. So I thought it would work with Mach3 as well.
    I'll do a little research on the idea of CitizenOfDreams

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35095

    Re: Problem with new PC

    You can use a motion controller like an ESS, or UC300ETH, and run Mach3 in Windows 10.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    937

    Re: Problem with new PC

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    You can use a motion controller like an ESS, or UC300ETH, and run Mach3 in Windows 10.
    That would be the "proper" way to do it, but it does require some investments (time, money and knowledge). Keeping the old computer (sans monitor/keyboard/mouse) and controlling it with WIndows Remote Desktop is a quick and dirty solution. I did that at one point and it worked quite well for me.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2017, 03:56 AM
  2. Fadal Idler problem. Rpm pulse problem
    By complextool in forum Fadal
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2016, 06:28 PM
  3. Tube problem or powersupply problem? Help you to check out
    By Melody-gweike in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 04:09 AM
  4. daewoo puma 12lb tape format problem/parameter problem
    By robb12877 in forum Daewoo/Doosan
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 06:13 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 11:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •