530,248 active members*
1,517 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Program splitting not wanted
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14

    Program splitting not wanted

    I have a program that has about 5 steps in Mastercam X mr2. I wanted to make multi parts on a sheet, so I translated the toolpaths. I sequenced the part to the way I want them, and all looks well. When I try to post, the first two steps are selected and asks for a program number and it posts only the two steps. then asks again for a second program number and the rest of the program is selected for posting.

    Simply put, I cannot select all the steps and post them in a single program.

    Please help.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3
    It sounds like the insert arrow isn't under the final operation in your operation manager. In the old version (9) you used to have to change NCI destination for MC to generate all the selected operations in one file.

    Good luck,

    Richard

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14
    Thanks, I tried the insert arrow at the bottom. It allways wants to split the program at the same place, almost like I have set something in mastercam telling it to post as a two part program. It is driving me nuts, I have spent about 2 hours trying to fix it. I could have rewritten most of the program by now.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    NC Name

    Make sure in your operations tree that the NC names for each operation are the same. Simply right click on the operation and select edit selected operations, select change NC file name. Make sure they all match If they are all the same then it will post to one file. You can also go into settings - tool path manager - NC File and select how you want to post your code.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    14
    The NC file names were different. Some of the steps were set to the old file name. My Bad.

    Thanks,
    I'm better now!

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: NC Name

    Quote Originally Posted by boysetsfires View Post
    Make sure in your operations tree that the NC names for each operation are the same. Simply right click on the operation and select edit selected operations, select change NC file name. Make sure they all match If they are all the same then it will post to one file. You can also go into settings - tool path manager - NC File and select how you want to post your code.

    Thanks ... ended my frustration today!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: NC Name

    Quote Originally Posted by WMParkFlyer View Post
    Thanks ... ended my frustration today!
    It's weird that the advice from 2006 might still be relevant.

Similar Threads

  1. Wood splitting cone program
    By cigla in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-24-2012, 05:49 PM
  2. Warmup Program for Tree 750 VMC Wanted
    By trelos_zoi in forum Tree
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2012, 03:48 AM
  3. pncconf: servo configuration program wishlist wanted
    By chester88 in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 06:40 AM
  4. Ear Splitting
    By Drools in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 04:10 AM
  5. G-code sample program wanted
    By blades in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 01:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •