544,220 active members*
3,066 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    292

    ridgid tapping

    What ,exactly , would it take to add rigid tapping to my Tormach PCNC 1100 .

    Ernie

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    566

    Re: ridgid tapping

    Quote Originally Posted by ErnieD View Post
    What ,exactly , would it take to add rigid tapping to my Tormach PCNC 1100 .

    Ernie
    From Tormach? You'd have to upgrade it to the BT-30 spindle and associated MX parts.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12411

    Re: ridgid tapping

    Quote Originally Posted by ErnieD View Post
    What ,exactly , would it take to add rigid tapping to my Tormach PCNC 1100 .

    Ernie
    You would need an Encoder on the spindle and a control that can control the the Zaxis and spindle speed at the same time

    What has to happen for Rigid Tapping is the spindle speed and Z axis has to be synchronized, so it is control mostly with Spindle Encoder feed back
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Ridgid tapping on Fanuc
    By peaceandcalm in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 10-25-2020, 12:11 PM
  2. Ridgid Tapping 1/4-20
    By southernexplore in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 08:45 AM
  3. Ridgid Tapping on Haas
    By Shotout in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-02-2006, 03:40 AM
  4. ridgid tapping with servos
    By miljnor in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-21-2005, 07:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •