504,350 active members
3,047 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    37

    Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    A couple of months ago I had a random error when booting up. I shut down and restarted it, and problem went away. Then a few weeks later, same issue, but it took about 3 or 4 restarts to clear.. Last time I started it, same thing, but about 6 or 7 restarts. Here is the error display:

    Attachment 423402

    READS:

    Cause: See Cause (2)
    Cause (1): The spindle enable signal (M1SPDL_ENBL) is not on, but the spindle drive ready (M1SPDL_READY) signal is on. It should not be on at this time.

    Cause (2): The spindle enable signal (M1SPDL_ENBL) has been set on, but the spindle drive ready signal (M1SPDL_READY) has not been received.





    All I can tell from this is that either the spindle drive is not producing the proper ready signal when it should, or whatever is supposed to receive that signal is not successfully receiving/recognizing it. Beyond that, I can't tell anything else from this. I just don't have enough understanding of the system to go much farther.

    FWIW: The spindle drive was rebuilt in June 2017. If it has 200 hours on it since then, I would be surprised.



    Having owned this machine for many years, I know how this goes. The issue starts infrequently, then continues to get worse until one day it just won't start. I don't run it every day, usually only 2 or maybe 3 times a month at most, so I would like to preemptively fix this if I can.

    There are some real experts on this control on here, sure hope one of you knows the problem. You have been very helpful in the past, and I have always returned the favor by spending my money with you for repairs.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    62

    Re: Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    Check relays cr 24 and 25 if they get 24v, and if they close circuit.


    Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    37

    Re: Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    Quote Originally Posted by tspiszak View Post
    Check relays cr 24 and 25 if they get 24v, and if they close circuit.


    Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
    Can you give me any details about the function of these relays? Is one or both supposed to be turned on by the Spindle Drive Ready signal?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    62

    Re: Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    Yes, both should turn on by spindle drive. Dallas chip maybe going faulty.

    Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    37

    Re: Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    Quote Originally Posted by tspiszak View Post
    Yes, both should turn on by spindle drive. Dallas chip maybe going faulty.

    Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
    Why the jump to suspect the RTC? What do the two have to do with each other?


    I replaced the WS battery in 2012, but the RT had no battery, it only had this device:

    Benchmarq Real-Time Clock Module #BQ3287MT

    I am assuming this is what you are referring to as the Dallas chip. If the RT battery was dying wouldn't the clock be losing time?



    BTW: There is this thread from 2012 where I review my procedure for changing the battery. I also discuss the RT module. This old thread is the only way I still had a record of the exact module on the board.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    37

    Re: Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100 Error

    UPDATE:

    I have not gone dark on this thread, but the 2 times I ran the machine since my original post I have not had any issues. Can't do much troubleshooting when the problem runs and hides. I will update if it comes back. I did locate the 2 mentioned relays and poke and prod them a bit, so it is not out of the question that action did something if there is a connection issue happening there.

    In the meantime, if someone can explain what the Benchmarq Module mentioned in post #5 does, I would be interested to know. Does it have a battery/finite lifespan that needs to be a point of concern?

Similar Threads

  1. Acramatic 2100 Conv Servo Error
    By Springfield in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2019, 01:01 PM
  2. Acramatic 2100 X axis Servo Error
    By Wildman05 in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2019, 01:31 PM
  3. Spindle or Drive Problem Sabre 750 Acramatic 2100
    By flyinphill in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-09-2017, 02:26 AM
  4. Sabre 750 with 2100 Acramatic
    By Ernie in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 03:29 AM
  5. Questions and/or Opinions about Cincinnati Sabre/Acramatic 2100
    By flyinphill in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 11:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •