589,272 active members*
5,271 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Saving probing measurements and comparing to current Work Offset(OSP-P300MA)

Saving probing measurements and comparing to current Work Offset(OSP-P300MA)

Hello.

I am new to writing probing sub-programs to get measurements of the part before the machining process and have read the Programming Manual and Gauging Systems manual for the OSP-P300MA but am still confused on how to save the measurement data for calculations.
    I am writing this sub-program for an Okuma M600HII (Horizontal Turbo mill) with the OSP-P300M controls.

My goal is NOT to change the current Work Coordinate ZeroSet for the part but use the current Work Coordinate ZeroSet value and the probe measurement (Y+ surface end) to calculate the distance in between the two.

I got 4 questions:
    - Is this possible?
    - Would either of the codes below work?
    - To do the calculations, would I have to save the probe measurements to the same Work Coordinate Offset, or save to a new one and do the calculations then?
    - Is this measurement, "CALL OO10 PMOD=2", the Y-coordinate where the probe is touching off, if so, what is the reference Zero to the coordinate?

1) "VC1 = CALL OO10 PMOD=2 PEI=0.4 POVT=1"

2) "CALL OO10 PMOD=2 PEI=0.4 POVT=1"
    "VC1 = VZOFY[1]"

Also, I know that we need to send the data from the machine through the RS-232C to the computer with some sort of "PRINT" command, but I was also confused on how to do this exactly.
    Continuing with the code above (I successfully saved a probing measurement into variable VC1), would i just print by:

"PRINT VC1"
    "VPRT=7" //For inches printing to the display and RS232C

I have attached an example code for the OSP-E100 controls and was wondering if it would also work for the P300MA controls.
    He used 'PUT' and 'WRITE C' which I understand but don't know if they would apply to the controls I am using.