549,843 active members*
2,874 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > PlanetCNC > servo as a milling spindle and synchronize
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    253

    servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    Is it possible to use a servo as a milling spindle and synchronize the speed with the Z-axis so that you can cut threads?
    Für CNC-Milling Machine, not Lathe.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    918

    Re: servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    I have servo motor for spindle on my new machine.
    It is speed controlled, not positionally. Driver has an option for encoder output. I use it for synchronization.

    I will have more info about how I did it in future weeks when I get more used to machine.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1540

    Re: servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    Hi,
    I have a servo as spindle motor and I can have it synchronize to do rigid tapping, I use Mach4 however, I dont know whether your
    control system can do it.

    Craig

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    Quote Originally Posted by tantemay View Post
    Is it possible to use a servo as a milling spindle and synchronize the speed with the Z-axis so that you can cut threads?
    Für CNC-Milling Machine, not Lathe.
    Yes it's possible to use a servo motor for a spindle motor. But this is not needed for rigid tapping.

    To synchronize the spindle to the Z axis only requires an encoder, or in some cases, only a once per rotation sensor on the spindle.

    Doing this requires that your control will support the encoder or sensor input and that your software has rigid tapping available.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    918

    Re: servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    With "only once per rotation" controller does not receive enough information about spindle to do reliable rigid tapping. Flexible collet is a must.
    With encoder rigid tapping works fine. Some servo drivers have encoder output which can be used and works great. Like I said, I have servo motor on my new machine and I'm using it as normal spindle.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: servo as a milling spindle and synchronize

    Please, can you explain the connection - point to point - between the servo motor driver (step/dir input, maybe) and MK3 controller, and setting on TNG?

Similar Threads

  1. Is this servo a good substitute for a milling machine spindle motor?
    By j3dprints in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2017, 02:20 PM
  2. Using DMM Servo to power lathe or milling spindle
    By Markphd in forum Dmm Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2015, 04:56 PM
  3. synchronize a stepper with lathe spindle?
    By jbrookes in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 03:02 PM
  4. help: synchronize a motor to a lathe spindle?
    By jbrookes in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 02:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •