543,715 active members*
2,362 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    10

    servo motor question

    evening all, i have a 3 axis servo motor and driver setup but i need to swap one of the motors for a higher NM one, i have found a motor with the NM i require but when i have looked at the connecting plugs the number of wires are different, is this a problem??
    current motor has 2 plugs, 1 has 4 wires, 1 has 15, the motor i have found has 3 on 1 plug and 8 on the other.
    will i be able to use this new motor or am i asking for trouble buying it??

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1173

    Re: servo motor question

    Hi,
    in short yes.

    The cable with four wires, usually thick gauge wires, are the three phases and one earth wire for the motor. The cable with 15 wires is almost certainly
    the encoder and hall sensors. The probability that the servo drive is matched to the replacement servo is vanishingly small.

    I would recommend, especially if you are new to servos, buy a matched pair.

    I have found Delta, a Taiwanese brand, manufactured in China to be good quality, good backup, good documentation and MOST importantly
    free PC based tuning and set-up software, at very fair prices. There are even cheaper brands, all Chinese made, but have questionable backup and
    support, poor documentation and NO set-up and tuning software. DO NOT BE TEMPTED.....you will tear your hair out with these things if you are new to servos.
    If you've had plenty of experience with AC servos THEN they are very attractive as they are cheap and perform well and are a good proposition.

    Just as a matter of interest the Delta servos only have four wires in the encoder cable as the encoder/servo drive communication is highspeed serial.
    That all but ensures that if you have a Delta servo you MUST use a Delta servo drive in order both ends of the serial link match each other.

    Craig

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: servo motor question

    thanks for that ill have a look around

  4. #4

    Re: servo motor question

    Quote Originally Posted by mcmental View Post
    evening all, i have a 3 axis servo motor and driver setup but i need to swap one of the motors for a higher NM one, i have found a motor with the NM i require but when i have looked at the connecting plugs the number of wires are different, is this a problem??
    current motor has 2 plugs, 1 has 4 wires, 1 has 15, the motor i have found has 3 on 1 plug and 8 on the other.
    will i be able to use this new motor or am i asking for trouble buying it??
    You can buy the same brand same series like your current motors, but with bigger torque, that will be much easier, because the wire and plugs will be the same.
    http://cncmakers.com/cnc/controllers/CNC_Controller_System/CNC_Retrofit_Package.html

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: servo motor question

    Quote Originally Posted by cncmakers001 View Post
    You can buy the same brand same series like your current motors, but with bigger torque, that will be much easier, because the wire and plugs will be the same.
    i dont seem to be able to find any Bonmet motors though

Similar Threads

  1. Servo Motor and Drive question
    By tvan56 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11-20-2011, 07:48 PM
  2. Servo motor used as spindle motor question
    By BrassBuilder in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 04:13 AM
  3. Servo Motor question
    By jaslep13 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-24-2006, 02:26 AM
  4. Servo motor question
    By jeep534 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 02:12 AM
  5. Servo Motor Question
    By Yellowbeard in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 03:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •