508,336 active members
3,952 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > General Maintenance > Maintenance DIY Discussion > Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    176

    Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines

    Getting an Electrician to add more Power Points. At the moment I'm using standard household Power Points. Like most people I have a few Power Boards with multiple machines plugged in but rarely are there more then 3 things running at once. I was wondering am I better getting a Higher amp Power Point installed and run my Power Boards from that.

    Only time I ever have a problem is when I have my Compressor turned on and it filling up with air, if I'm using my Small Table Saw it sometimes throws the Reset on my Power Board ( Never at the Powerbox in the house ) so if I get a higher amp Power Point installed will that stop that from happening? I was thinking that might save me some $$ so replace my normal amp Power Point with a higher amp one rather then get 4 or 5 normal amp Power Points installed.

    Also in my Office where I have a 6 pack Power Board with 6 various things running like a Desktop Computer, 2 Monitors, a Printer, and Notebook plugged in would a higher amp Power Point be worthwhile installing to plug my 6 Pack Power Board into?

    Thanks in Advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1641

    Re: Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines

    Sounds like you need an electrician to calculate your power load and upgrade your main panel. If its for a Home shop and your the only one working 150 - 200 amp main should be enough. Your air compressor and your air conditioning will draw a lot of power.
    Retired Master Electrician, HVAC/R Commercial. FLA Saturn 2 4x4 CNC Router

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    176

    Re: Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines

    Quote Originally Posted by wmgeorge View Post
    Sounds like you need an electrician to calculate your power load and upgrade your main panel. If its for a Home shop and your the only one working 150 - 200 amp main should be enough. Your air compressor and your air conditioning will draw a lot of power.
    Thanks George, I was just trying to work out the most cost efficient but also the safest too. I can either get him to install 4 or 5 standard Power Points in my workshop or possible save money by installing 1 higher amp Power Point

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10434

    Re: Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines

    Quote Originally Posted by KenR60 View Post
    Thanks George, I was just trying to work out the most cost efficient but also the safest too. I can either get him to install 4 or 5 standard Power Points in my workshop or possible save money by installing 1 higher amp Power Point
    It sounds like you need more than one 20A circuit added, Power Boards are never a good thing as it is easy to have overload on your main supply circuit
    Mactec54

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10434

    Re: Electrical Question - 1 Higher Amp Power Point for 6 Machines

    Quote Originally Posted by wmgeorge View Post
    Sounds like you need an electrician to calculate your power load and upgrade your main panel. If its for a Home shop and your the only one working 150 - 200 amp main should be enough. Your air compressor and your air conditioning will draw a lot of power.
    They don't have anything like 150/200amp supply in Australia
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. I need a electrical schematic to CNC milling machines ACIERA F55 5000
    By katrina15 in forum Deckel, Maho, Aciera, Abene Mills
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2015, 02:26 PM
  2. Where do all these huge 80V DC or higher power supplies come from?
    By SwampDonkey in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 05:41 PM
  3. Higher power at start, any control to keep it from happening?
    By tdiaz in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 02:24 PM
  4. Higher Power Interface
    By Clackvalve in forum ArtCam Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 07:58 PM
  5. Using a higher amp stepper than driver is rated for question
    By Semisentient in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 11:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •