585,712 active members*
4,131 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

job search help

i am just learning and am looking for a job. i have about 5 years experience with cnc mills and manual mills and lathes. i was recently laid off a couple months ago and am looking for a new job in a machine shop. my last job was given to me by a friend of my fathers. i have been looking on the internet for new job openings but havent found any. i am 21 and i live in the daytona beach fl area and was looking for advice on finding a new job. i am not real experienced with looking for a job since my last one was the only one i have ever had and it was basically given to me.

Try indeed.com, this is a search engine that posts most if not all the jobs posted in the web, just type in "CNC" plus your city, and if you are considering relocation just type the specific state you want to relocate and so on. Make sure you click on "date" at the upper right hand side of the page to get the latest postings. Check craigslist.org aswell.

Just finding job openings is one thing, landing the job is the next. It is good that you are tapping into this network but there are others networks that you are already part off. Ask the guys you were working with and for if they have any ideas. Talk to the people at church, and other social events. Don't cry about being laid off, present it as an opportunity for growth.

While you are looking for an opening take time to catalog your skills.
    What have you been working on, Machines, function, training. Have documentation of training, certificates that you have earned, etc.

Refine your resume to one page, period. It is one of the toughest things you will write. Make it sharp, correctly spelled pay to have it done if you must but get it right. High school and High School sports are a single line each at most.