585,585 active members*
3,760 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

General advice and equipment advice

I'm looking to start a business/hobby manufacturing firearms. I'm an experienced computer programmer (C++ language for Unix/Linux) with little to some experience machining.

I'm active duty USAF and I'm going to use the active duty GI Bill to attend a certificate program for CNC Machining at Arkansas State University Beebe (outside of Little Rock AFB). This is to gain knowledge of CNC machining to add to my knowledge of computer programming.

The materials will be mostly 6061 aluminum; however, I'll need to turn barrels, mill bolts, and mill other parts of 410 stainless steel and 4150 steel.

I'm interested in a CNC lathe and CNC mill. I'll also need an assortment of cutting tools and work holding tools.

My limitation will be that I'll run these machines in my garage with 240V single phase power.

So far I've looked at the Haas Minimill and Haas Toolroom TL-1. I would buy the coolant pump kit for both and the chip enclosure for the TL-1. For over $60,000 in Haas equipment, I'm not impressed with a 6 month warranty.

I would appreicate any general advice and advice on makes and models of mills, lathes, cutting tools, and work holding tools.