585,722 active members*
4,184 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > SprutCAM > Simple Problem -

Simple Problem -

Set up and goal:
    Drafting with alibre. Using sprutcam 2007. Wanting to remove simple cylinder worth of material. Using pocketing to machine it. I have machined a few drafts with acrylic to confirm the code outputs the desired diameter.

Problem:
    Diameter of my test acrylic run is never the diamter I intended it to be. I figure its just me experiencing a learning curve. I need help figuring out what my diameter of the final piece will be based on the g-code. I hate wating a hrs for a test piece to finish.

Im falling behind real quick on my project. Im a total newb.

Attached is one of my several failures. I thought I almost had it on this one when I saw the stock paramater setting.
    Attached Files Attached Files

hello" i will download your file

Quote Originally Posted by levon18lopez View Post
    hello" i will download your file
    thank you!

what is your desired diameter ? what are your desired tolerances ? are you using same tool in SC and on the mill ? why have you used
    "pocketing" instead of "rough waterline" if you are importing IGS file , similar effect you can achieve in "Hole operation" and choice "Hole pocketing" strategy.

feel free to ask , I can make you a video if you like , just tell me what is your goal.

Peter

My final goal is to make threads on a block of aluminum. I need to make both internal and external threads on this part. However before I can even embark on learning to thread I need to make the major and minor diameters on the stock. Correct?

Desired diameter is 2.0475'' with tolerance of 0.0001''. 1/2" end mill on both SC and mill. Using PCNC1100 machine. I have not used waterline because:
    1. I am not familiar how to create that type of of tool path.
    2. I am not sure what are the advantages and disadvantages of them.