509,937 active members
3,707 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0

    SprutCAM 4th Axis

    This may be a SprutCAm question, but I wanted to ask current SC/Tormach owners first.

    I have a figurine to machine and setting up files so when I actually get my machine it may be one of the first pieces machined (I know, simple blocks will be first).

    My problem is I am not finding the info I need to rotate the 4th axis during roughing. I will either have a cylinder or block (thinking cylinder is easier) for material. I rough down the top part and then I simply want the 4th axis to rotate 180DEG and machine down the backside.

    During the final passes, I believe I have that setup where it will turn around as it goes around the part. Just setting up the movement during roughing is the problem.

    Is there a setting for the Tormach machine that I am missing?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0
    Actually may have just figured out my problem. I added an auxiliary operation and changed the A axis to 180 degrees.. That seemed to work.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    318
    If both sides are the same you can use the copy setup under transformations.

    So many times I have gone through the trouble to model something complex (for me) and then once in sprutcam I figure out I just wasted a bunch of time because I could have just used this feature.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by compunerdy View Post
    If both sides are the same you can use the copy setup under transformations.

    So many times I have gone through the trouble to model something complex (for me) and then once in sprutcam I figure out I just wasted a bunch of time because I could have just used this feature.
    No both sides are not the same. Would actually be nice it I could set it up to rough it around the whole part, but rotating 180 would work as well.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    318
    I may be wrong but as far as I know only pocketing and engraving setups will rotate the part as needed.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by compunerdy View Post
    I may be wrong but as far as I know only pocketing and engraving setups will rotate the part as needed.
    If I select Finishing- Rotary, I think that moves the part around the 4th axis as it mills, or at least that is what I have been using it for. But there is no similar option under roughing.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    309
    ... So why not use that, then? Finishing, roughing, who cares? Just tell it to leave some material for a real finishing pass, and use Finishing-Rotary to rough, then do it again as a real finishing pass. Depth of cut is settable, so you should get what you want if you mess with it.

    Regards,

    - Just Gary

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by justgary View Post
    ... So why not use that, then? Finishing, roughing, who cares? Just tell it to leave some material for a real finishing pass, and use Finishing-Rotary to rough, then do it again as a real finishing pass. Depth of cut is settable, so you should get what you want if you mess with it.

    Regards,

    - Just Gary
    Nothing I suppose. Probably a good way to learn a little more on it as well.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    0
    hi i am new to forums and my new pcnc mill i received a message to post and say hi but could not see how to make an original post so will try a reply at some point would like to mill very coarse threads using rotary table to duplicate remington 788 bolt can this be done

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by elc View Post
    hi i am new to forums and my new pcnc mill i received a message to post and say hi but could not see how to make an original post so will try a reply at some point would like to mill very coarse threads using rotary table to duplicate remington 788 bolt can this be done
    Well, I am a firearms instructor, not a gunsmith but I don't see why you couldn't make one. I am more familiar with the 780 myself.

Similar Threads

  1. SprutCam
    By Magnum164 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 01:30 AM
  2. SprutCam
    By ErnieD in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 08:24 PM
  3. SprutCAM
    By kevperro in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 11:45 PM
  4. SprutCam ver 5.53
    By RTP_Burnsville in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 12:47 PM
  5. Sprutcam and 4th axis
    By RP Designs in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 02:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •