585,741 active members*
5,301 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Cool Prolight 2500

Hello all,

I mentioned in another thread that I had aquired a Prolight 2500, and after getting it home and powered up I have a problem I need to resolve. It's bone stock with a 42K spindle and has the software already loaded on a Dell Percision 340 with XP Pro and is set up as DOS mode only. After numerous attemps of swaping out USB mouses and the earlier type with the socket ,I get no mouse action period. I see power going to the usb one, as it eluminates, but at this point I "think" there are no mouse drivers present, nor am I that well versed in DOS. I'm a CNC machinist, not an IT guy. Could anyone give a little guidance on getting this monster to work please?

Thanks ,Steve

It's a DOS program so it may not even use a mouse. Here's the manual for the 2000 I believe they are similar.

http://studiomode.nu/wiki/wp-content...light_2000.pdf

I would download that before it goes poof and disappears. But not from the DOS machine :rainfro:

Thanks for the response allenj20. I appreciate the link too It used to work with a mouse before our IT guys moved eveything to this computer and fell by the wayside about correcting it. There are plenty of areas on the user screen once the PLM2000 program runs and pretty much leaves me high and dry trying to control it without the mouse. I guess I'm looking for step by step instructions for loading of some driver file in dos if that is possible?

Thanks Again,Steve

EDIT............That is a very good download,Thanks again..........according to it there "are" ways to function without the mouse (tab key)AND do not load a mouse driver AFTER the PLM2000 software, it must be done before. So I wonder if I should reload my XP disc and re-aquiring windows and the mouse driver...then reload the Prolight stuff as a new install? Whatca think? I sure would prefer a mouse