585,762 active members*
4,272 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Am I out of my mind?

Looking for some insight with this one...

My company does alot of tube and pipe bending... among other things. For years I have always thought about making our own tooling. We spent about 5K for a set of dies that only does 1 thing...

Just for kicks, what am I looking at if I wanted to produce tooling like this (shown below). No experience with a mill... Tons of experience in other areas.

What kind of equipment would I be looking at? I see mills for 10K... Models, Brands, etc...

Whats the average learning curve if this is all I wanted to do?

Am I way off on this one?

Thanks for any direction.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hi, I am not an expert, but I will throw some basics on the table FWIW. I am sure others will throw in their ideas.

Let's suppose you want to use a NEW Haas mill to do the work
    - For the mill and setting it up - about 100K
    - Tooling for specific tasks - about 15K
    - Software for designing about 15k
    - Quality experienced machinist about 80K year including overhead, benefits

Can you go cheaper- sure - maybe 1/2 of that if you shop carefully.

You might even find a machinist locally that is willing to set up a shop in your building and exchange rent for parts, depending on if you have that much room.

I think the main driving force for bringing machining in-house is for more rapid turn around and quick testing of ideas. It is hard to justify internal capability on a pure cost savings aspect. Of course, that has not stopped many hobbiest from buying and building mills and cnc routers.

The first piece is cake on a manual mill.

The other two are pretty much CNC work and not trivial work, either, so you'd need a good mill and there would be a big gap between getting started and being able to make those parts.

There are many benefits and many pitfalls.

On the plus side: