585,722 active members*
4,396 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Low Current interface, High Current Motor?

Low Current interface, High Current Motor?

Hi,

I'm thinking of buying a small (compact) stepper interface, rated less than 2 amps per phase, but I want to run it on a 2.5 amp per phase stepper motor. Can anyone tell me if I can get away with just putting an FET on each phase?

I am CNC'ing a large'ish' Mill, so I need fairly powerful motors to run it. I know it is easier and simpler to buy a >2.5a rated controller, but this controller has button controlls so I don't have to boot the very slow, very old laptop to move the leadscrews (I also have mobility problems) The mill is a far eastern model purchased in the UK from WARCO, model ZX-15 and I am on a non existant budget.

I'm no expert when it comes to electronics so be gentle with me. Any information would be great, thanks

Ian

It isn't necessarily a good idea to run steppers at their current limit; they'll get pretty hot. Running them slightly under that limit would be fine.

At a guess, if it were an easy thing to uprate a motor driver, it would be done more often and geckodrives wouldn't do such good business ;-)

Curent

Hi serriadh,

Thanks for the comments. I think I may not have made myself clear. I don't want to run the low current driver at max, I wondered if it was possible to add a power FET on each phase to take the load, so the driver wouldn't strain and burn out.

Thanks anyway...... Clackvalve

A drive won't try to deliver more than it's rating. If it's a 2 amp drive, it'll deliver up to 2 amps, all day long. You won't damage it by using higher current motors. The drive dictates the current, not the motor.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints