585,764 active members*
3,945 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Ball/Leadscrew questions:

I am new to the CNC world but am committed to building my own Router Table.

I have read how a lot of you have scored some good deals on Ebay and have been researching for the past month or so. I have also received countless catalogs and visited mfg's. websites. Bottom line: I cannot afford full blown retail, so Ebay is my choice at the moment.

That said, I am faced with collecting compatible components. I am going with Servos from Jeff Davis of HomeCNC, eventually, and 80/20 extrusions from their Ebay Garage Sale. So now I am faced with trying to purchase the Screws form Ebay.

Question:

Does they X,Y and Z axis have to have the same screw spec's, ie. TPI, Lead, Diameter, Pitch etc. How much mix-n-match can you do if any?

Can you mix Lead and Ballscrews?

If I drive the X axis with two screws, can they be easily synchronized or am I borrowing trouble…

Thanks for any assistance you can lend. I hate to bid on any Screws unless I know if I can mix-n-match or have to remain consistent throughout…

Dave's Not Here…Man

I'll throw out some things here;

I think it depends on your cnc software about mixing and matching. I use MACH2 and have mixed different pitch leadscrews, and now ballscrews on X and Y, stock rack and pinion on Z. Today my task is to put the ballscrew on Z. In MACH2 it's all about how many steps to go one inch. Was pretty simple for me.