585,925 active members*
3,399 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    Boot disk for EZ-Track DX, batch file?

    Hello there:

    Hope this is the correct forum to post this in.
    We have a BPT Mill with EZ-Track DX controller. It was working well for what we need it to do.

    The other day the mill wouldn't boot up. I took the floppy disk that we always had in there and attempted to look at it, but it appears to be damaged.

    I was able to boot to the a: drive with another MS-DOS boot disk, switch to the c: drive (with the external keyboard), and start the autoexec.bat file.

    This would be ok, but now the keyboard on the controller doesn't work, since we had to plug in the external keyboard, to change the drive.

    I attempted to write a small batch file to change the drive and execute the autoexec.bat file on the c: drive, but it won't start (something's wrong with the batch file I wrote).

    Does anyone have a copy of the original batch file/floppy to start up the mill? Can anyone tell me, what I am missing in the code below, to start the autoexec.bat on the c: drive?

    REM Desc: File to load the autoexec.bat file on c drive of EZ Mill

    REM First add the c drive to the systempaths
    set path=c:\;c:\windows;c:\dos

    REM Run the Autoexec file
    cd c:\
    autoexec



    Thanks in advance for any help.
    It will be greatly appreciated.

    Peter aka MMM2003

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    There is the possibility that your CMOS settings have corrupted. They affect the ability to read the hard drive, floppy drive and control the keyboard test which when turned OFF allows the use of the smaller EZTRAK keyboard.
    There is the possibility that a virus has destroyed your hard drive boot sector. Typically the old DOS viruses were aimed at that. It is impossible to run a virus scan on these machines because 4 MB of RAM is not enough to load and run a virus scan. Usually I have to format and transfer the system to a floppy and then take the floppy to a good PC with the latest antivirus software and scan it to see if a virus exists. Typically the DOS viruses are written to jump to a floppy when one is created especially a boot floppy.
    The older versions of the EZTRAK software up to version 3.02 would look for a hard drive and if one is not found would create a RAM DISK in memory. This to accomodate the SX machine versions that did not have a hard drive.
    I can send you a self extracting zip file that when extracted to a floppy would give you a good disk that will load the software. It will have a EXE extension, so most firewalls will stop it. This will not help if you have a virus. You will need to format the drive to erase the virus and then load DOS 6.20 and then the software. BTW, I usually keep all my disks locked to prevent a virus jumping to them.
    I need your email address.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    George:

    Thanks for in depth response. Please email the file to [email protected].
    Could you ZIP the file? Otherwise it won't go thru our firewall, Anti-Virus settings.

    I still don't know what's wrong exactly, but I don't think its a virus. Nobody has touched that floppy in years.

    I was able to make it work, by creating a MS-DOS boot disk, which would boot the system to an a: prompt. Than I created a small batch file called 123.bat on the floppy. All it does, is point to the c: path and load the autoexec.bat file. Our machinist can now just type 123 and hit enter on the EZ-Track keyboard, and it will load the OS and EZ-Track software.

    Thanks again for your help. If anyone is interested in the batch file, email me and I will forward to you.

    Thanks,

    Peter aka MM2003

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    Check your email for attachments. I sent two.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    George:

    I got the files. Thank you! One was blocked by Outlook.
    I'll have to look into on how to install the other one you sent.

    Thanks,

    Peter aka MMM2003

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    Read email as how to use.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14

    Eztrak Help

    Quote Originally Posted by machintek View Post
    Check your email for attachments. I sent two.

    George
    WOULD YOU PLEASE HELP ME ABOUT THE ORIGINNAL BATCH FILES AND SOFTWARE FOR EZTRACK 3.19.AND ALSO PLEASE TELL ME WHICH DOS VERSION THIS PROGRAM BASED ON >>>THANK YOU VERY MUCH

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    I will have to find a disk with that version. I do not remember it. But in the beginning Bridgeport was coming out with updated software evey week to fix bugs.
    Early disks were smaller as they had less machine software and could be made bootable. Later disks were not. Instead, one carried a boot disk to boot, fdisk and format a hard drive, then we also carried a set of DOS 6.20 disks, and finally a pile of different versions of machine software.
    The machine software disks varied. As I said, some were bootable and went directly into an install. bat file, while others required a booting hard drive, full size keyboard that allowed typing, and gave you a choice as to what it neede to use. Verion 5 and 6 would ask if to had one of three differnt control machines (all DX-32), and two or three axis, does the third axis have an encoder on the Z motor, etc. That is why I have to find that specific version you ask about andd see what is on it.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SBAGHAEI View Post
    WOULD YOU PLEASE HELP ME ABOUT THE ORIGINNAL BATCH FILES AND SOFTWARE FOR EZTRACK 3.19.AND ALSO PLEASE TELL ME WHICH DOS VERSION THIS PROGRAM BASED ON >>>THANK YOU VERY MUCH
    My version 3.6 boot disk has 5 batch files and it is running DOS version 6.20

    Autoexec.bat
    A1.bat
    1.bat
    2.bat
    3.bat

    I am not sure if this will help you, but here is EXACTLY what each file contains;

    *** This is Autoexec.bat ***

    cls
    ECHO on
    PATH C:\;a:\
    REM VERIFY ON
    set hd=0
    rem call a:\syschk.exe
    call a:\numlokon.com
    if not exist c:\msdos.sys goto install
    @echo off
    echo WARNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    echo The system on your hard drive is
    echo about to be changed to an EZTRAK
    echo configuration.
    a:\dos\choice.com /c:10 Confirm ? (1=Yes, 0=No)

    rem if syschk detected a system and operator elected to install
    if ERRORLEVEL 2 goto reboot
    set hd=1
    :install
    rem if exist c:\command.com goto warn
    cd c:\
    md c:\dos
    if exist c:\msdos.sys goto hasit
    A:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE c- a 32 /Q
    goto hasnot
    :hasit
    c:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE c- a 32 /Q
    :hasnot
    copy a:\numlokon.com c:\*.*

    copy a:\expand.exe c:\*.*

    if exist c:\msdos.sys goto passit

    copy a:\dos\*.* c:\dos\*.*
    COPY A:\COMMAND.COM C:\*.*

    :passit

    COPY A:\DISKCOPY.CO_ C:\*.*
    COPY A:\MORE.CO_ C:\*.*

    expand c:\diskcopy.co_ c:\diskcopy.com
    expand c:\more.co_ c:\more.com
    copy a:\a1.bat c:\autoexec.bat

    copy a:\config.hd c:\*.sys

    if not exist c:\msdos.sys goto bypass

    copy a:\pfm.exe c:\*.*

    :bypass
    SET COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM

    ECHO copying BMDC executive...

    COPY A:\BMDC.BI_ C:\*.*
    copy a:\ezload.exe c:\*.*

    expand c:\bmdc.bi_ c:\bmdc.bin

    c:

    cls

    if exist c:\msdos.sys goto passovr
    call a:\ezload.exe c:\bmdc.bin
    :passovr
    rem erase c:\bmdc.bin
    rem erase c:\ezload.exe

    erase c:\bmdc.bi_
    copy a:\bmdcprms.sys c:\*.*
    COPY A:\EZTRAK.ex_ C:\*.*

    expand c:\eztrak.ex_ c:\eztrak.exe
    erase c:\eztrak.ex_

    ECHO copying EZTRAK files...

    COPY A:\*.FN_ C:\*.*
    COPY a:\eztrak.ic_ c:\*.*
    COPY a:\eztrak.pc_ c:\*.*

    copy a:\ez_utils.exe c:\*.*
    COPY A:\1.BAT C:\*.*
    copy a:\delay.tim c:\*.*
    copy a:\sys.bez c:\*.*
    copy a:\sys.dat c:\*.*
    copy a:\cfgprms.sys c:\*.*
    copy a:\tool.tbl c:\*.*
    cls

    ECHO copying Part Program files...

    COPY A:\*.PGM C:\*.*
    COPY A:\*.TXT C:\*.*

    expand c:\bld013.fn_ c:\BLD013.fnt
    expand c:\bld019b.fn_ c:\BLD019B.fnt
    expand c:\bld019m.fn_ c:\BLD019M.fnt
    expand c:\hlv025b.fn_ c:\HLV025B.fnt
    expand c:\hlv050b.fn_ c:\HLV050B.fnt
    expand c:\bld015.fn_ c:\bld015.fnt
    expand c:\bld014.fn_ c:\bld014.fnt

    expand c:\eztrak.ic_ c:\eztrak.icn
    expand c:\eztrak.pc_ c:\eztrak.pcx

    erase c:\*.??_

    erase c:\expand.exe
    if %hd%==1 goto hardd
    c:

    cd\
    c:\1.bat 1
    goto endit
    :hardd
    rem c:\1.bat 0
    copy a:\2.bat c:\*.*
    c:\2
    :endit


    *** This is A1.bat ***

    cls
    ECHO on
    PATH C:\;a:\
    REM VERIFY ON

    cd c:\
    c:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE c- a 32 /Q

    SET COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM

    call c:\numlokon.com

    c:

    cls

    call c:\ezload.exe c:\bmdc.bin

    :runtrak
    c:

    cd\
    c:\1.bat 0


    *** This is 1.bat ***

    @ECHO OFF
    if not exist d:\nul goto LOOP
    copy EZTRAK.EXE d:\EZTRAK.EXE
    :LOOP
    if exist d:\nul goto d
    c:\EZTRAK %1
    goto cont
    :d
    d:\EZTRAK %1
    :cont
    call c:\next.bat
    GOTO LOOP


    *** This is 2.bat ***

    echo 3 Axis EZTRAK CNC installation complete.
    rem SPS Installation
    echo Please remove this diskette from drive A:\,
    echo insert your EZ-SPS installation diskette in drive A:\ then
    echo press any key to continue.
    echo If you did not purchase EZ-SPS, just remove this diskette from
    echo drive A:\ and then re-boot the machine.
    pause
    c:\
    md sps
    cd sps
    copy a:\pkunzip.exe c:\sps\*.*
    copy a:\sps.zip c:\sps\*.*
    c:\sps\pkunzip sps.zip
    del c:\sps\pkunzip.exe
    rem goto endit
    :reboot
    echo Please remove this diskette from drive A:\ and then re-boot
    echo the machine.
    :endit


    *** This is 3.bat ***

    echo If you did not purchase EZ-SPS, just remove this diskette from
    echo drive A:\ and then re-boot the machine.
    pause
    rem copy a:\2.bat c:\*.*
    call a:\2.bat
    rem goto endit
    :reboot
    echo Please remove this diskette from drive A:\ and then re-boot
    echo the machine.
    :end

Similar Threads

  1. V2XT Boot Disk Needed.
    By v488 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 04-29-2005, 07:03 AM
  2. boot disk
    By spuzzbutt in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2004, 02:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •