585,729 active members*
4,900 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > Birch plywood. Feedrate, step depth and rpm?

Question Birch plywood. Feedrate, step depth and rpm?

Hello!

I'm new to hobby cnc'ing. The question is about optimal feedrate, step depth and rpm for cutting out details from plywood.

Situation:
    Birch plywood 18mm thick (~700kg/m3)
    Kess 1050 FME 10000..32000 RPM
    Cutter- cutter d=3mm, shank d=3mm, cutlength=20mm, overall length=38, no. of flutes=3, VHM, upward chip ejection (a "noname" from ebay)
    Max speed for machine (that stepper motors feel comfortable ) as I have set it up in Mach3 is 50mm/sec.

The job consists of cutouts, there are only few small pockets, 5mm in depth.

What would be Your suggestions on those parameters? Primary I don't search for "fastest" approach, but the most "correct" one. The thing that worries me is the "composite" nature of plywood (this one is bonded with a phenol resin adhesive (EN 314 / 3 rd class; BS 1203 / H4 (previously WBP); DIN 68705 Part 3 / type BFU 100)).

Thank You so much in advance!

What is the chip load of the bit? Onsrud shows anything from .003 to 0.013 for their 1/8 bits in laminated ply.

Once you know that, it's easy math.

any type of ply I would use a compression cutter Onsrud does sell a bit thats an 1/8" cutter 60-102 were you planing on cutting in one pass or several. 18mm ply with a 1/8 cutter make sure you buy a handful i'm sure you will break a few. i would try cutting about 85 IPM, 18,000 rpm and 3 passes of 1/4" good luck cutting that.

Thanks for pointing in chipload direction!
    That is a value I don't know.
    ..a "noname" from ebay..
    As I understand, not knowing this parameter makes the whole calculation pointless. I googled up some manufacturer sites, and from what I saw- lets consider chip load 0.006" = 0.1524 mm

feedrate = RPM * No. of flutes * chipload
    feedrate = RPM * 3 * 0.1524