585,683 active members*
5,225 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: max RPM

max RPM

I have been machining for about 12 yrs. i currently set up and program YCM and HAAS mills. The shop i work at curently does a lot of small work( using 1/32 em's in a2) and aluminum cutting. I was recently told not to program the machines to the max RPM (YCM is 10k and HAAS is 12k) due to spindle wear. Has anyone EVER heard of this being a problem? i was under the impression that these machines were capable of running all day at these rpms.

Belts wear out disproportionately faster, as do bearings as spindle speed increases towards the max.

Don't know what the actual numbers are, but I know a 15,000rpm spindle will last a lot longer run at 12,000rpm than at the full 15. Even longer at 10,000.

The belt on our 10,000rpm mill is almost 8yrs old, and looks new. I usually keep it down to 8000, but mostly run at 5000 and lower. Service guys tell me that machines run at max will go through belts in 6-8 months.

A friend of mine reports that by dialing his machines back to 80% of max spindle speed is rebuilding his spindles less frequently, such that the loss in productivity is more than offset by the decrease in machine downtime and spindle costs. Again, numbers, I don't have 'em.

If you've got a big enough operation to justify keeping a spare spindle cartridge on hand, that'll at least soften the downtime issue.