585,883 active members*
4,704 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Hybrid View

A Different Machine - Downdraft/water table

I finally got started on my table replacement. I've been using an old rolling cabinet with a blower installed in the botton and exhausting out the side. It's been really beat up plus it's only for freehand work. However, it does run pretty clean so I thought the addition of a water tray would really clean it up.

I've been collecting parts for several months, motors, controller (g540), power supplies, switches, rails, etc. I am using V rails for the x axis, linear rails for the y and z, The drive will be 3/4" belt on the x and y and acme screw on the z. I am using 2 motors on the x.

The table is relatively small compared to most on these forums, 4 x 2 ft. This is for 2 reasons. One is I don't need a large table and second it would be extremelly difficult to do the downdraft with a large table. the exhaust can either be filtered or ducted outside.

The table will be built from 2x2 square tubing, 2x2 angle, 1x1 angle, and various strip stock. Panels will be 18ga sheet. I built the top and bottom rails and posted the pics. Getting them square and level was a lot tougher than I thought it would be.

I'll keep posting my progress. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Willy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Top Frame.JPG   Bottom Frame-squared & welded.JPG  

It's got legs

Been a busy day. Got the legs cut and installed. Also added the top frame to the assembly. Learned a good lesson today - you can't have enough clamps and they can't be big enough.

Used a borrowed laser level to square and level the legs and top. Worked great - lots easier than a bubble or water level.

Added 2 pics of the work.

More to follow.

Willy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Legs Attached.JPG   top frame installed.JPG  

Water Table supports installed