585,733 active members*
4,937 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > part setup Z &tool length offset

part setup Z &tool length offset

I need some help with the above subject. I am new to the hurco brand (VMX24 winmax) and not grasping how to find the work offset in Z and also setting the tool length offsets. What's confusing to me, is how some operators perform this task, is completely backwards (my opinion), they use the "tool length by touch off" (I think). I use the "preset tool length" method on our Okumas: MCV4020 & MV-56B, both have OSP-P200M controls. I am hoping one day to get an offline presetter (reduce setup time). On the Okumas my proceedure (simply put) for finding the Z work coordinate is this; I jog the nose of the spindle (without holder & in clamped condition) onto a "50mm ZERO SETTER" which is placed (by me) directly on my part's Z0.0 surface. Then I go to my work coordinate (generaly H1), select Z axis (work coordinate page), then press control keys "CAL + 50" [ENTER]. This tells the machine that my work Z coordinate is 50mm below the spindle nose current Z position. With this way there is no manual measuring or calculating anything. It's all done in the control of the machine, the operator is less likely to fat finger inputs. Now to find the tool length offset; I typically place a 2-4-6 block on the table and then place the same "50mm ZERO SETTER" on top of that. I jog the spindle nose again on the 50mm zero setter, go into a different work coordinate (say H2), then go to the work coordinate page, for Z axis, press "CAL" [ENTER]. This zeros the spindle for H2 work coordinate, then I raise the spindle enough to load a tool, say T1. With T1 loaded, I lower the spindle with tool back onto the "50mm ZERO SETTER", then I go to the tool offset page, and for T1 slot, I press the control key "CAL" [ENTER], the value that appears (automatically) in T! slot is the length of the tool (from gage line