585,741 active members*
5,149 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Hidden values for Work Offsets (G110,111,112), Haas VF0

Hidden values for Work Offsets (G110,111,112), Haas VF0

So this is hopefully a very stupid question, but I cannot find the answer in any of the manuals for this machine. I'm an engineer that's had to get into the dirt of CNC programming.

Where can I find data on how the HAAS controller handles various work offsets. I have a set of simple parts for which I use G110-G112 work offsets.

There seems to be a set of hidden offsets in the machine's computer that I cannot find any data on. Here's a simple run-down of my problem:

1. Select G112 Work Offsets. Go into MDI Mode to run 'G112;' to make sure.
    2. Position the table over my physical XY Zero.
    3. Use 'Set Part Zero' for both X and Y.
    4. Note the X and Y numbers in the OFFSETS Screen for G112.
    5. Press the 'POSIT' button. OK, Work Coordinates should be (XY)= 0,0. No.
    6. Go into MDI, type in 'G112;' and green button to Run.
    7 Back into 'POSIT' Screen. OK, now the Work Coordinates read (XY)= 0,0.
    8. This is fine so far.
    9. Now, move the table somewhere.
    10. Type in a bit of code in MDI mode: 'G112 G92 X0 Y0;'
    This should set XY0,0 at current location, which it does.
    11. Go back into 'POSIT' screen, sure enough I have Work Corrdinates (G112) reading X=0, Y=0.
    12. Go into 'OFFSETS' screen, and the X and Y numbers for G112 are *unchanged* !! This seems wrong!
    13. Re-position to physical XY zero position, and use the 'Set Part Zero' to set this location as 0,0. Re-run 'G112' from MDI mode.
    14. Now I have X=0, Y=0, but the offset numbers in the 'OFFSETS' screen are completely different from the first time, while XY 0,0 is in the same location.