585,760 active members*
3,804 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Plugin for serial controller

I currently have a homemade 3 axis router running Mach3. The stepper motor drives are being controlled by the paralell port of my laptop which works OK, however I've just acuired a nice compact industrial PC with a 15" touch screen problem is it only has 2 serial ports and 1 usb (no paralell port). I was thinking of buying a "SmoothStepper" serial controller from http://www.warp9td.com/ which comes with a Plugin for Mach3, are these any good?. I've also fond this controller for "Ocean Controls" http://www.oceancontrols.com.au/KTB-190.html which is half the price but doesn't have a plugin for Mach3. Does anyone know if a plugin for the KTB-190 exists? If not Whats involved in creating one? (I have basic knowledge of VB). Any suggestion of help is greatly appreciated

Hi,
    The Smoothstepper works fine but it does lack backlash compensation. It has been promised since day one but have yet to be delivered, apart from that it works very well indeed.

As for the other controller you linked to - it's never going to work. First of all, the maximum step rate is only 29.5kHz and even if that is enough for you making it work properly with Mach3 will be impossible. External motion controllers for Mach3 works by having Mach3 calculate all the trajectories and then send them "in chunks" to the controller. The controller buffers them internally and "chews" them off one by one while Mach3 continues preparing and planning the next bunch of moves. The key here is that the controllers buffer can't ever "run dry", if that happens the motion stops until new motion data has arived.