585,715 active members*
3,750 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Newbie ready to Start but has a few questions

Newbie ready to Start but has a few questions

After many years of lurking here on the board I am just about ready to take the plunge. I am looking to build a machine capable of cutting 5'X5' Plywood, Acrylic, and 1/4" aluminum. I have a few questions I want to run by the you guys to make sure that I know what i am getting into. First, about me. I am an experienced woodworker and pretty handy. I have a well-equiped shop (but no welding equip or experience). I studied manufacturing in college so I know about CNC but no real practical experience other that some work with automed test equipment. Budget is not the primary driver for this project but itis a consideration. I want to build my own machine mostly because thats how I roll . I'm looking forward to the learning experience as well as having a tool that is well suited to my needs. In the end I will need the machine to be capable of doing prfessional level work(good finish, good accuracy). I intend to use the machine to cut parts and patterns for my woodworking and furniture projects. I also would like to offer prototyping and small production run services as a side business. My current design is to use 72" 3060 from 8020 for the X axis. This will have 4 X 1/4 CRS on to and use the linear bearings from cncrouterparts.com. the Y axis will be 3060 on edge with 7 X 1/4 on the face and the Z axis will be the one that cncrouter parts describes on thier site. I will use NEMA 43 steppers and R&P drive and a 1.5 KW spindle to Start with. I am planning on using Mach 3 software
    So my questions are:
    1) Back of the napkis estimates tell me that I should be able to do this for $6K. Can some of you moer experienced builders tell me if this is realistic?