585,735 active members*
4,916 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Events, Product Announcements Etc > Polls > How many people know what a milling machine is?

View Poll Results: How many people know what a milling machine is?

Voters
626. You may not vote on this poll
  • 1 in 10 or less

352 56.23%
  • 2 in 10

142 22.68%
  • 4 in 10

79 12.62%
  • 6 in 10

30 4.79%
  • 8 in 10

9 1.44%
  • 10 in 10

14 2.24%
Page 1 of 4 123

How many people know what a milling machine is?

Such a useful and important tool, but I didn't even know it exsisted a few years ago.

a major portion of the population has no clue about machining .
    i've had so many times that people have asked me what i do for a living , when ive told them i am a machinist then probably 90% of them started talking about their car , then 50% of them looked confused when i told them that i don't work on vehicles but i do make the parts that go on vehicles or what have you

or I get the " i made a screw driver in high school " , so at least they get it a bit

A poet knows no boundary yet he is bound to the boundaries of ones own mind !! ........

Most people think "mechanic" when I tell them what I do. A few actually understand what it is I do, but have no idea how I do it or with what. As far as the equipment goes, the only people that ever had a clue were a few engineers I've met throughout the years.

One of them actually knew about CNC and eve had a clue about general machine practice. But he was an exception.

There's plenty that think a router made from Al extrusions is a milling machine.......Even less know what a Machinist is........sounds a little like Masochist eh?
    Keith

when ive told them i am a machinist then probably 90% of them started talking about their car
    that's funny...........

i have a background in toolmaking, so i normally get "oh you make hummers, spanners and stuff"

Quote Originally Posted by Kipper View Post