585,712 active members*
4,014 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    76

    Citizen Question

    For the Citizen experts. Is there a way to incorporate the cutoff process and start position process directly into the program rather than having to do it manually?
    What macros does it read for the cutoff, and for the move to start position? These questions are for a L20 M7 and M8
    Thanks in advance
    Brett

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    Yes there is a way.

    Load the attached file into the machine and call it as a SUB program at the beginning of $1. MAKE $2 WAIT UNTIL IT IS COMPLETED.

    $1 ................................. $2
    M98P322
    !2L322 ........................ !1L322


    This is for the L7-20. There is NO M7 or M8 machine.

    You need to call the cutoff tool into position and position the stock FIRST!!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    76
    Thanks for the reply. I new to citizens and was referring to the model # on the manuals, it says 5m7 or 5m8 which is where i got the m7 m8 from. Anyway thanks for the information. And what excatly is program 322?
    If i have to position the cutoff tool first would something like this work

    $1................................................ .................$2
    IF[#5041LT0]GOTO500......................................!L322
    T0100
    G0X[#814+.05]
    M98P322
    N500
    !L322

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    76
    My goal in this scenario is to put a safety check in place in case guys forget to move to start position which seems to happen regulary.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    76

    OH

    Didnt see the attached file! Thank you!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    This program will got into alarm if the cutoff tool is not in position. The screen will read "Call Cutoff".
    If you do a tool call as you show it will add cycle time on EVERY cycle.

    FYI,
    5m7 = L5-20 (5th Generation L20), Type VII

    5m8 = L5-20 (5th Generation L20), Type VIII (Added capibility, Gangblock)

    See the attached file for a line-by-line explanation of what will be done by that program.

    "Train the operators, but first protect the equipment!"
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7

    The M stands for Mitsubishi, F stands for Fanuc

    Quote Originally Posted by cogsman1 View Post
    This program will got into alarm if the cutoff tool is not in position. The screen will read "Call Cutoff".
    If you do a tool call as you show it will add cycle time on EVERY cycle.

    FYI,
    5m7 = L5-20 (5th Generation L20), Type VII

    5m8 = L5-20 (5th Generation L20), Type VIII (Added capibility, Gangblock)

    See the attached file for a line-by-line explanation of what will be done by that program.

    "Train the operators, but first protect the equipment!"
    Just to expand on your breakdown, M is for Mits, F is for Fanuc

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    I am trying to use this on my L6-32 but i am having trouble with the G53 -#818. It wants to go to minus what is in my mc data from machine zero. It is not going to the start position.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    For that machine change that one line to be

    G53Z#872-#818

    The system settings are different between some models.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    thank you. I am trying to learn how all this stuff works. Kinda got thrown to the wolves with the swiss machines. Learning as i go though..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    I am still having problems with this on the L6-32. I changed the g53 line to #872-#818. The first time I ran the program it worked just like it should, went right to start position after cutoff. Now every time after that It wants to go forward toward the guide bushing and alarms out.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    267
    what alarm?
    Control the process, not the product!
    Machining is more science than art, master the science and the artistry will be evident.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    Z axis over travel. Traveling toward the GB this time.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    267
    Well, are you in OT?
    Can you move Z1 in manual?
    When you run your code, what is the MC COORd for Z1?
    Control the process, not the product!
    Machining is more science than art, master the science and the artistry will be evident.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    What does the "distance to go" show? What axis' still have movement to go?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    just Z1 axis list a distance to go. It is something like 10 inches positive. If i go back to G53 z-#818 it also alarms but a negative distance to go.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    There are only two options and one of them is correct. Be sure you are entering them in correctly.

    G53Z-#818 (Z - #818 )

    G53Z#872-#818

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34
    Ok i am certain i have entered everything in correctly. Like i said though if you do this first thing when the machine is powered up it works. if i manually do a start position or if i run this start position prog twice, the second time it does not work.

    Here is what i just took out of the machine



    O322(START-POSITION )
    $1

    IF[#858NE#816]GOTO30

    IF[ABS[#5043]GT[#814/2]]GOTO30

    IF[#5043GT.01]OR[#5043LT-.01]GOTO1

    IF[#5041GT#824+.02]OR[#5041LT#824-.02]GOTO1


    GOTO7

    N1
    M6(CLOSE COLLET)
    (CUTOFF)
    T0100
    S1=#817M3
    G0X#814+.1T1
    G99G1X#824F#822
    G4U.5
    M5

    N7
    (START POSITION)
    IF[#5022EQ-#818]GOTO991
    M7
    G4U.8
    G0X#824W0T0
    G53Z#872-#818
    M6

    N991
    M99

    N30
    #3000=70(-CALL-CUTOFF)
    $2
    $3
    $0
    A
    #814=0000007500
    #815=0000001000
    #816=0000001000
    #817=0003000000
    #822=0000000020
    #824=-000000500
    #818=0000015000
    #819=0000001000
    #820=0000000000
    #821=0000000000
    #990=0000030000
    #991=0000056000
    #992=0000064000
    #893=0000000000
    %

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    304
    Try this change

    (START POSITION)
    IF[#5022EQ[#872-#818]]GOTO991

    Let me know the "Machine position for Z1 when you do a normal "Start position" and the "Machining length" from your MC DATA IF this does not work.

Similar Threads

  1. Citizen M32
    By shrektaylor in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2014, 06:13 PM
  2. Citizen L25
    By JOlalde in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2010, 12:09 AM
  3. Citizen L20
    By Tornos100 in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 06:52 AM
  4. Citizen M series basket and counter Question
    By EdgeCrusher in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 12:44 AM
  5. Citizen L25
    By appusivadas in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 02:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •