585,922 active members*
3,849 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Mastercam Training

Mastercam Training

I'll tell you a little about myself before I ask some questions. I graduated high school 3 years ago and have been working at an extrusion company. I'm currently an EDM Machinist. At first and I still sometimes don't like my job, but I have gather a lot of interest with the drafting and programming aspect of the industry in the last year. I have been learning Rhino and Mastercam in the last 3-4 months.

About 8 months ago, there was an opening in the programming department, which I applied but the supervisor said someone else already asked. Later I found out that my supervisor didn't want to lose me in his department and the programming supervisor had asked the other guy (in house) if he wanted to learn programming. The other guy has been there just little over a year. This makes me feel like I'm stuck in a dead end job.

I'm currently getting paid 16.45 which is good for a 21 year old...I think and I'm still living with my parents (I have enough money saved up for community college) Reason I stayed at my job and lived at home is, I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life.

I have been learning Mastercam with the In House Solution Textbooks.I'm really taking interest in this. I have been thinking more about this has a career, and this is why I'm making this post. There is no community college that teaches mastercam in my state so I would have to move to another state.