585,687 active members*
4,807 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > 21iT: Using 2 offsets for 1 tool:Machine stops for tool change
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    21iT: Using 2 offsets for 1 tool:Machine stops for tool change

    I have a 1999 Romi M17 with a 21iT control. I use a Dorian wedge-style toolpost. I am using a tool which one side is used to turn the OD, then the other side turns the ID. The problem I'm having is the machine stops and waits for a tool change when I would like it to just automatically change the offsets and continue machining. I'll give an example of the spot in the program:

    T1111 (OD);
    M3;
    M8;
    G42 GO X1.30 Z.05;
    G70 P1 Q2;
    G40 G30 UO WO;
    T1212 (ID);
    M3;
    M8;
    G41 G0 X1.00 Z.05;
    G1 ZO.O F.002;
    X.96;
    X.942 Z-.009;
    Z-.250;
    G40 X.880;
    G0 Z.5;
    G30 U0 W0;
    M1;
    M30;
    %

    Usually, I would add a M1 after the G30 U0 W0, and this stops the machine.
    I just always thought that was what it did.
    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Do I need to adjust a parameter?
    I would really like to have the machine continue on it's own without having to push the tool change button.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Usually when you use two offsets for one tool, only the last 2 digits change (so it doesn't index). Try

    T1111 (OD)
    T1112 (ID)

  3. #3
    dcoupar, I am pretty sure that I tried that on Friday. I'll make sure that I try it tomorrow and see where it goes.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    Usually the last (rightmost) two digits of a T-word specify the geometry as well as wear offset numbers (which are row numbers of the respective offset tables), and the remaining digits (one or two) at the left designate the tool number on a lathe. The numbering scheme for geometry offset, however, depends on a parameter setting. Though the leftmost two digits always designate the tool number, a different parameter setting will cause these digits to be interpreted as geometry offset number also. The rightmost two digits are always wear offset numbers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    0

    Please share the information

    Hi,

    May I know if you have got the solution. I am interested in it. Please do let us know how did you address this problem.

    Thank you,
    Kattoju


    Quote Originally Posted by gnmachine View Post
    I have a 1999 Romi M17 with a 21iT control. I use a Dorian wedge-style toolpost. I am using a tool which one side is used to turn the OD, then the other side turns the ID. The problem I'm having is the machine stops and waits for a tool change when I would like it to just automatically change the offsets and continue machining. I'll give an example of the spot in the program:

    T1111 (OD);
    M3;
    M8;
    G42 GO X1.30 Z.05;
    G70 P1 Q2;
    G40 G30 UO WO;
    T1212 (ID);
    M3;
    M8;
    G41 G0 X1.00 Z.05;
    G1 ZO.O F.002;
    X.96;
    X.942 Z-.009;
    Z-.250;
    G40 X.880;
    G0 Z.5;
    G30 U0 W0;
    M1;
    M30;
    %

    Usually, I would add a M1 after the G30 U0 W0, and this stops the machine.
    I just always thought that was what it did.
    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Do I need to adjust a parameter?
    I would really like to have the machine continue on it's own without having to push the tool change button.

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. setting the tool data and the tool offsets
    By Michael82 in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-01-2022, 03:10 AM
  2. Machine hang during tool change
    By javajesus in forum Sharp CNC
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 07-08-2021, 08:34 PM
  3. Machine stops at end of tool path
    By Cellar Dweller in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-29-2009, 11:14 AM
  4. Machine skipped a tool change??
    By panaceabea in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 11:55 PM
  5. variable to change tool offsets in auto cycle
    By dalvinder in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 09:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •