585,996 active members*
3,850 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: FreeCAD

FreeCAD

This is my first post and I hope it will be the first of many. I am very new to the CNC scene, but I am extremely excited about it.

But back to the topic. I am a huge fan of opensource software, because it empowers people like me to enjoy a hobby without breaking the bank. After a very long search and finding out that there is very little choices when it comes to opensource CAD, but at least choices. BRL-CAD and Salome being the the top contenders, with BRL-CAD seeming to be the best choice for designing. After much reading in the forums I found that BRL-CAD does not seem to get used because of its high learning curve and Salome enjoys popularity but it is first and foremost a modeling tool for analysis, not design.

After reading some more on these forums I found that Blender is also used as CAD, but as with Salome it is not geared for design. After using the trusted old search engine some more I found FreeCAD and I am excited yet again as this seems to be the answer for designing. But unfortunately it is still in alpha development. I have stumbled across HeeksCAD/CNC and this will most definitely be my choice for CAM, but for CAD personally I would like to play with something else. (Maybe all of them.)

So what I would like to start with this thread is two things:

1) Give some exposure to FreeCAD, as I know there are people like me who would like to see its continued development and growth.
    2) Ask what is your top three opensource/freeware choices for CAD design and why. Even if it is a package not specifically intended for design.

It would be wonderful if some discussion of the different packages could also flow from this.

Thanks mate, just downloaded free cad, still learning cad programs, seems like a good program. Graham