585,728 active members*
4,476 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Surfcam > Need help in machining 3d part

Need help in machining 3d part

Hello,

Im working with surfcam for quite a while, but generally im new to cnc. I was machining 2d parts and all was fine, but now i experienced a problem, i need to machine this part:

I made it with solidworks. Using SurfCAM 4 sp1. Tried many different ways to machine it, but still cant get desired effect. If i use z rough and z finish option i get this terrible result:

Have no idea why it leaves so much material. As far as i've got here i got some luck with 3axis planar operation, but still no even near desired.

The part will be made from MDF, so it can still be repaired a bit with hand tools. The borders between walls and that rise is 6mm, so i should be able to machine it with 6mm end mill and then end it with like 10mm ball mill.
    Could some one help me with this? how would you do this?

Thanks in advance.

Hi, can you zip and upload your part?

i couldnt attach it here so i uploaded it to web:
    http://www.megafileupload.com/en/fil...rt-3d-rar.html

Have you tried to do a 2D pocket above the part and then use the project routine?

thats a good idea and nice feature. i hadn't idea what that operation does, but now i do.
    So i took a try. I created rectangle 50mm above the part, used pocket operation on it, and then projected it onto my part.
    it looks like that:

But result is still not quite good.

It doesn't remove alll fragments of pocket. And even removes way too much material on one side. And it never removes material shown in middle rectange i marked in red, there should be 6mm space between that fragment of circle and wall, and i machine it with 6mm end mill (i enter diameter 5.85).