584,858 active members*
4,662 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Waterjet General Topics > Newbie - To build or not to build Router/Plasma Table

Newbie - To build or not to build Router/Plasma Table

Hi all, I believe that I have gotten bit by the CNC bug, can't stop reading about it. 1st I just wanted to say that this site is AMAZING! I have looked at many sites on the internet and this is by far the best! With that being said here is my point. I am a newbie to CNC and I would like to build what I would consider at this point my dream table... a 4'x4' table that I can use either a router or a plasma cutter. I believe that I have found what I am looking for on Ebay, here is a link http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...519386136&rd=1, but I want to build it. Even though I am a newbie I am not without skills. I have done woodworking and electrical for 25+ years (I'm not a youngster Self taught Mig welding for that last year. I also have an AAS degree in electronics and have been in the computer field for the last 16 years. Machining is where I lack in experience though, but not afraid to learn. I have been reading everything I can about building CNC tables but do I dare take on this dream? Go ahead - double dog dare me ... (hahaha). If anyone has plans, advice, information about building this type of table I would appreciate it. Thanks!

go for it

Hi, Dfranks,
    I found myself in your shoes a while back. I saw a plasmacam advertised in a magazine and thought it was the coolest thing I'd seen in a long time.
    Till I saw the pricetag that is.... I couldnt justify spending that much money on "another hobby". Then I found this site and figured I'd try building one myself. I knew nothing...repeat NOTHING about cnc. I built the basic table for about 5 dollars worth of scrap steel. Geckos, motors and power supply set me back about $1000.00 (ouch).