585,599 active members*
3,734 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Angry g code problem

Hi,

I think someone will be able to help easily with this one.....I'm using kellyware software and when I import a dxf or hpgl file jthe g code puts down the z axis at the start and only lifts it off at the end, so it cuts the letters ok but runs from one letter to the next without lifting off and and usually chops them in half.
    Basically the question is...how do I get the Z axis to lift off between cutting each letter????

plz help...I'm new to all this and its driving me crazy!!!

Mmm, that's handy. There's got to be a "move to clearance" setting in there somewhere. Failing that, draw your own moves to clearance between the letters, if the software works in 3d.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Check This Out!

Plz Help. My Z axis doesn't lift off between each letter. How do I get it to do so?? The imported dxf isn't giving any z info. I'm running with kellyware software but also have this problem with all softwares inc mach 2.
    Any help however small appreciated......thanks!!!

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

thanks mr huflung dong!

thanks for the info.....seems i just have to do it myself hey! ....oh well......

thankls again..... I got another question for you.....sorry to keep asking...... I drew up some lettering that was like 350 mm high ( about 12 inches) when I ran it to the machine it came out like 2 inches......can you help me sort that???.....I really appreciate your help....thanks!