585,902 active members*
4,358 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Wiring and Power Supply Help Please

Wiring and Power Supply Help Please

Hope someone can possibly help me with the following. Forgive me for possible use of wrong words here but I am a bit of a newbie to all this CNC stuff.

I have converted a PC Power supply, forgetting all the other voltages out other than 5V, -12V and 12V, I need 24V for the stepper controller. I have used an LM338K regulator circuit and managed to get 22V out. This consists of -12V & +12V in out gives me the 22V.

The question, my stepper controller board requires 5V - Grd - 24V in, the 5V will come from the 5V out from the main power supply, the 24V from the LM338 board. Now the confusing bit, do I take a NEG from the main power supply and the NEG from the LM338 board, connect together and use as the Grd on the stepper board.

Years since I have messed with this stuff and dont just want to assume as I dont want to blow the stepper board up.

Thanks in advance guys for any advice.

Steve

You cannot use the same common reference for each as the 24v supply you have setup is referenced from a different point in the supply, this means that you cannot use it on any equipment that uses a 5v and 24v which both use the same reference point.
    IOW, you cannot set up two different reference points using the same supply and then connect them together.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Hi Al, thanks for the reply, that has gone a tad over my head.

So given that I have a power supply with the relevent voltages as well as 24V what actually do I do with the equipment I have available, are you saying I cannot use this method or when you refer to reference point are you refering to Neg/Grd?