586,024 active members*
3,622 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Beginner Questions

I'm new to all of this and have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with. (If I'm in the wrong forum I'll appologize now). Also please excuse me if I don't use the correct terms as I am still learning.

1.) I would like to build a cnc table that would be interchangeable between a router and a plasma cutter. Am I off base by thinking that I can do this? After reading up on cnc tables it appears that they are basically the same except for maybe the size of the motors required and that you obviously can't run a ballscrew down the center of the table as it would be damaged by the plasma cutter. How do they deal with that anyway? Is a single motor used to move the table/gantry in the Y direction or is there a motor on both sides of the table?

2.) I have noticed that some use a 3 roller bearing system in an upside down"Y" configuration running on top of a steel bar while others use a steel bar running through the center of a linear ball bushing (incorrect term?) (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...520821545&rd=1) ? Are there advantages of using one over the other?

3.) Direct coupling versus using a timing belt. If I have read correctly direct couping is 'harder' on the stepper motors whereas coupling with a timing belt and different gear ratios is easier on them? I may be way off base on that one. Anyway, advantages, disadvantages.

Thanks in advance for anyone's input and for putting up with my rudimentary questions.

First - you have to completely complete your profile. Completely.